Agencies | Online Services | Policies |

ADE Director's Communication Memo Form

Memo Number : SI-03-063

Date Created : 05/08/2003


Co-op Directors
Secondary Principals
Elementary Principals

Type of Memo: Informational
Response Required: No
Section:   School Improvement and Professional Development - Ms. Janinne Riggs
21st Century Community Learning Centers Grant

Regulatory Authority:
NCLB-Title IV, Part B, Sec 4201

Contact Person:
Dee Cox, 21st CCLC State Coordinator

Phone Number:


The Arkansas Department of Education (ADE) has received funds from the United States Department of Education for 21st Century Community Learning Centers (21st CCLC) grants. The funds will be awarded through a competitive grant process based on the implementation of research-based academic improvement practices, through collaborative efforts, and meeting the grant criteria.

Authorized under Title IV, Part B, Section 4201 of the Elementary and Secondary Education Act (ESEA), and as amended by the No Child Left Behind Act of 2001, the purpose of the 21st CCLC program is to establish or expand community learning centers that provide students with OUT-OF-SCHOOL academic enrichment activities designed to complement the studentsí regular academic program. Community learning centers must also offer families of these students literacy and related educational opportunities. Centers can be located in elementary, secondary schools or other similarly accessible facilities.

The 21st Century Community Learning Centers Request For Proposal Application and Guidelines are included. Faxed copies of the application will not be accepted. On or before July 11, 2003,the original and five (5) copies of the application must be received in the Arkansas Department of Education addressed to: Dee Cox, State 21st CCLC Coordinator, Arkansas Department of Education, # 4 Capitol Mall, Room 402A, Little Rock, AR 72201.

For more information, contact Dee Cox at 501-682-4379 or


Back to the Customer List

Copyright © 1997 Arkansas Department of Education. All rights reserved.
Department of Education Home Page