ARKANSAS DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION, SPECIAL EDUCATION

EDUCATION REIMBURSEMENT REQUEST FOR DISABLED AND

 NONDISABLED STUDENTS PLACED IN APPROVED RESIDENTIAL FACILITIES

Separate application forms are used for the education reimbursement for disabled and nondisabled students in approved residential facilities.  For students in state-operated facilities, the facility assumes the cost.  

Reimbursement for Identified Students with Disabilities

Act 1667 of 2001 provides for current year funding for identified students with disabilities receiving educational services in approved residential treatment facilities.  Eligible school district claims for in-state placements submitted in FY 2002-03 will be reimbursed at the rate of $50.00 per day.

Reimbursement request forms must include the student’s name, the number of school days served, and the name and location of the residential treatment center.  Also, verification of Arkansas residency must be indicated according to the following:

A. Arkansas resident receiving education in a residential facility in Arkansas.

B. Arkansas resident receiving education through a day treatment program in a residential facility in Arkansas (non-reimbursable).

C. Arkansas resident receiving education in a residential facility outside of Arkansas (contact Grants and Data Management).

Reimbursement for in-state placements will be provided either at the actual District cost per student per school day or at $50.00 per school day, whichever is lower.  Copies of paid invoices reflecting individual student charges must accompany all claims.

NOTE:  FOR REIMBURSEMENT OF ELIGIBLE OUT-OF-STATE PLACEMENTS OF DISABLED STUDENTS, PLEASE CONTACT GRANTS AND DATA MANAGEMENT.

Reimbursement for Nondisabled Students

Reimbursement request forms must include each student’s name, the number of school days served, and the name and location of the residential treatment center.  Also, indicate on the form that the student is an Arkansas resident.  Districts cannot be reimbursed for non-residents of Arkansas nor for out-of-state placements.

Reimbursement for in-state placements will be provided either at the actual District cost per student per school day or at $50.00 per school day, whichever is lower.  Copies of paid invoices reflecting individual student charges must accompany all claims.

* * * * *

The Special Education Grants and Data Management Office will process reimbursement requests on a quarterly basis.  Each quarter’s request must be received by the deadline indicated on the application form. Payment will be sent from the ADE Finance Office to the County Treasurer.  

For additional information regarding requests for reimbursement, call the Grants and Data Management Office at (501) 682-4223.  Completed reimbursement forms should be forwarded to:

Arkansas Department of Education

Special Education 

Grants and Data Management, Attn:  “Residential Reimbursement”

1401 W. Capitol, Suite 450

Little Rock, AR  72201-2936

REIMBURSEMENT REQUEST FOR EDUCATIONAL COSTS              

STUDENTS WITH DISABILITIES IN APPROVED IN-STATE 

RESIDENTIAL TREATMENT CENTERS
2002-2003

District ____________________________________________       LEA#_______________

Check(X)      
   1st Quarter
         2nd Quarter   
      3rd Quarter   
 4th Quarter

Submission

Deadline:           (11-4-02)             (01-17-03)             (03-14-03)             (06-02-03)  

1.
Number of students with disabilities for which reimbursement is requested


2.
Total number of student days this billing period







3.
Current per school day amount




               X

$50.00

4. Actual cost to District (attach legible copies of paid bills


showing the education costs of individual students.  


Reimbursement will not be made without adequate documentation.)
$


5.
Line 3 x Line 2







$

6.
Enter the lower of lines 4 and 5





$



I certify that all data are accurate, that my school district is responsible for educating each student counted as disabled according to eligibility guidelines, and that each student with disabilities for whom reimbursement is claimed is placed in a residential treatment facility approved by the Arkansas Department of Education.  Further, no student counted on this report is counted on the district’s request for reimbursement for nondisabled students placed in a residential treatment facility nor is included in the district’s average daily membership on the quarterly report (Form FAPD-3).

_________________________________

__________________

          Superintendent’s Signature

            
  Date

_________________________________

___________________

                 Contact Person




Phone


ADE USE ONLY
Approved: Yes _____     No _____



Amount Approved: $____________

Reviewed By: ______________________________
            Date: ________________________

District ____________________________

Period Covered ______________________

DETAIL OF REIMBURSEMENT REQUEST

STUDENTS WITH DISABILITIES IN APPROVED 

IN-STATE RESIDENTIAL TREATMENT CENTERS

2002-2003
	Student Name 

(Last, First)
	Name and Location of 

Residential Treatment Center
	Is this a long-term place-ment?
	# of Paid SchoolDays 
	Verified Residency

Status of Student

	
	
	(Y or N)
	
	A
	B
	C

	
	
	
	
	
	
	

	
	
	
	
	
	
	

	
	
	
	
	
	
	

	
	
	
	
	
	
	

	
	
	
	
	
	
	

	
	
	
	
	
	
	

	
	
	
	
	
	
	

	
	
	
	
	
	
	


Verified Residency Status of Student:

Column A -
Check column A if the student is an Arkansas resident receiving education in a residential facility in Arkansas.

Column B -
Check column B if the student is an Arkansas resident receiving education through a day treatment program in a residential facility in Arkansas (non- reimbursable).

Column C -
Check column C if the student is an Arkansas resident receiving education in a residential facility located outside of Arkansas.(contact Grants and Data Management)

REIMBURSEMENT REQUEST FOR EDUCATIONAL COSTS 

NONDISABLED STUDENTS IN APPROVED RESIDENTIAL TREATMENT CENTERS
2002-2003

District ____________________________________________       LEA#_______________

Check(X)      
   1st Quarter
         2nd Quarter   
      3rd Quarter   
 4th Quarter

Submission

Deadline:           (11-4-02)             (01-17-03)             (03-14-03)             (06-02-03)  

1.
Number of nondisabled students for whom reimbursement is requested


2.
Total number of student days this billing period







3.
Current per school day amount




               X

$50.00

4.
Actual cost to District (attach legible copies of paid bills


showing the education costs of individual students.  


Reimbursement will not be made without adequate documentation.)
$


5.
Line 3 x Line 2







$

6.
Enter the lower of lines 4 and 5





$



I certify that all data are accurate, that my school district is responsible for educating each non-disabled student claimed, and that each nondisabled student was placed in a residential treatment facility approved by the Arkansas Department of Education.  No nondisabled student was placed in a residential center for the primary purpose of receiving educational services.  Further, no student counted on this report is counted on the district’s request for reimbursement for students with disabilities placed in a residential treatment facility nor is included in the district’s average daily membership on the quarterly report (Form FAPD-3).

_________________________________

__________________

          Superintendent’s Signature

            
  Date

_________________________________

___________________

                 Contact Person




Phone


ADE USE ONLY
Approved: Yes _____     No _____



Amount Approved: $____________

Reviewed By: ______________________________
            Date: ________________________

District _______________________________
Period Covered ______________________

DETAIL OF REIMBURSEMENT REQUEST

NONDISABLED STUDENTS
IN APPROVED RESIDENTIAL TREATMENT CENTERS

2002-2003

	Student Name (Last, First)
	Name and Location of

Residential Treatment Center
	Is this a long-term place-ment?

(Y/N)
	# of Paid SchoolDays 
	Verified Residency Status 

(Y/N)

	
	
	
	
	

	
	
	
	
	

	
	
	
	
	

	
	
	
	
	

	
	
	
	
	

	
	
	
	
	

	
	
	
	
	

	
	
	
	
	

	
	
	
	
	

	
	
	
	
	

	
	
	
	
	


Verified Status (yes or no) -
Nondisabled students must be residents of Arkansas as defined by Ark. Code Ann. 6-18-202.  Reimbursement is available for students served in Arkansas facilities only (geographic boundaries).







