Agencies | Online Services | Policies |

ADE Director's Communication Memo Form

Memo Number : IA-04-042

Date Created : 10/13/2003


Co-op Directors
other: All Principals
LEA Supervisors

Type of Memo: Administrative
Response Required: Optional
Section:   Internal Administration - Dr. Bobbie Davis
Special Ed Programs, School-Based Mental Health Network

Regulatory Authority:
Public Law 105-17

Contact Person:
George Elliott

Phone Number:


The Arkansas Department of Education (ADE) is fostering the development of a network of approved school-based mental health programs within Arkansas public school districts. These school-based programs have the following characteristics in common:

An emphasis on early intervention
Full integration with the community and its resources
Placing students and their families at the center of service decisions
Providing services that are culturally competent
A focus on promoting school attendance and academic success
Services and supports validated by research and evidence-based practices

School districts interested in participating in this network are encouraged to complete and submit the attached School-Based Mental Health Survey.

After the completed survey is received by the ADE, the district will be contacted either by Tony Boaz, LCSW, or Ruth Fissel, LCSW, to provide additional technical assistance directed toward network participation.


Back to the Customer List

Copyright 1997 Arkansas Department of Education. All rights reserved.
Department of Education Home Page