ADE Director's Communication Memo Form

Memo Number : LS-06-006

Date Created : 08/26/2005


Co-op Directors
Secondary Principals
other: Secondary Counselors

Type of Memo: Informational
Response Required: No
Section:   Learning Services - Dr. Diana Julian, Assistant Commissioner
2005-2006 United States Senate Youth Program

Regulatory Authority:

Contact Person:
Maggie Herrick

Phone Number:


The Commissioner of the Department of Education is privileged to recommend two (2) high school juniors or seniors to serve as delegates from Arkansas to the 44th Annual United States Senate Youth Program. Since 1962, two student leaders from each state, the District of Columbia, and the Department of Defense Education Activity have spent one week in Washington, D.C., seeing the national government in action. After visits with national leaders on Capitol Hill, at the White House, Supreme Court, Pentagon, and State Department, each delegate is awarded a $5,000 college scholarship.

Through the United States Senate Youth Program, over 4,400 young people have had this lifetime experience – 104 delegates each year – as all expenses paid guests of the William Randolph Hearst Foundation. Applicants must be juniors or seniors interested in government and political science. The applicants must currently hold an elective office in a student government, civic, or educational organization officially sponsored by the student's school. Complete information about eligibility is contained in the attached description of the program.

An application, which may be reproduced, is attached along with suggestions for completing the application process. APPLICATIONS MUST BE POSTMARKED by September 30, 2005. There are no exceptions to this deadline. Late or incomplete applications will be disqualified. A selection committee will screen all eligible applicants and make recommendations to the Commissioner of Education.

For general program information and rules, please visit the United States Senate Youth Program website


Back to the Customer List

Copyright 1997 Arkansas Department of Education. All rights reserved.
Department of Education Home Page