ADE Director's Communication Memo Form

Memo Number : LS-06-011

Date Created : 08/31/2005


Co-op Directors
other: LEA Supervisors

Type of Memo: Administrative
Response Required: No
Section:   Learning Services - Dr. Diana Julian, Assistant Commissioner
Special Ed Programs: Special Ed Supervisor FY 2005-06 Funding & Payment

Regulatory Authority:
20 U.S.C. 1400-1487

Contact Person:
George Elliott

Phone Number:


The Arkansas Department of Education (ADE) receives a biennial appropriation that includes funds to support the local payment of salaries of special education supervisors. The intent of this appropriation is to ensure that special education personnel have the content knowledge and skills to serve children with disabilities as specified in the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA) of 2004.  The ADE is required to make distributions in a manner necessary to carry out this intent.

The ADE will distribute special education supervisor funds for the 2005-06 school year on the basis of 2004-2005 documentation received by the ADE Special Education Unit as of May 31, 2005.  This documentation included a contract indicating the amount of time devoted to special education activities by each supervisor as well as the employing school district or co-op.

Maximum funding of $28,000 is available in 2005-2006 for each supervisor working full-time on special education activities in 2004-2005.  Positions funded at less than the maximum in 2004-2005 will be funded at the same prorated level (i.e., 75 percent and 50 percent) in 2005-2006.  No 2005-2006 funding will be provided for less than 50 percent of the maximum.

Forms and applications are not required to receive 2005-2006 funding.  A lump sum payment to each employing school district or co-op will be processed during the week of September 12, 2005.  Changes from 2004-2005, in terms of the employing school district or co-op, should be brought to the attention of the ADE prior to this date.


Back to the Customer List

Copyright 1997 Arkansas Department of Education. All rights reserved.
Department of Education Home Page