ADE Director's Communication Memo Form

Memo Number : COM-06-016

Date Created : 08/25/2005


Co-op Directors
Secondary Principals
Elementary Principals
Middle School Principals
High School Principals

Type of Memo: Informational
Response Required: Optional
Section:   Accountability - Dr. Charity Smith, Director
Little Rock Nine Monumental Recognition

Regulatory Authority:
Act 1483 of 2005

Contact Person:
Dr. Charity Smith

Phone Number:


The nine African American students who integrated Little Rock Central High School in 1957 will gather at the Arkansas State Capitol at 9.00 a.m., Tuesday, August 30, 2005, for the unveiling of a monument in their honor.  The sculpture will be on the north side of the Capitol grounds. 

In the 2005 legislative session, Arkansas State Senator Tracy Steele of North Little Rock sponsored Act 1483 of 2005 of the 85th General Assembly to appropriate funds to erect the monument.  Local artists John and Kathy Deering were commissioned to design it.  On Tuesday, August 30, 2005 at 11:00 a.m., the United States Postal Service will release a commemorative stamp depicting the Little Rock Nine at Central High School in Little Rock.  The stamp is one of 10 commemorative postage stamps in a series called To Form a More Perfect Union. 

The Little Rock Nine are Ernest Green, Elizabeth Eckford, Jefferson Thomas, Dr. Terrence Roberts, Carlotta Walls Lanier, Minnijean Brown Trickey, Gloria Ray Karlmark, Thelma Mothershed-Wair, and Melba Pattillo Beals.

Schools are encouraged to participate in this event by reviewing the history of the Little Rock Nine or by visiting the monument located on the Capitol grounds.  Schools interested in bringing students to the unveiling, should contact Dr. Charity Smith at 501-682-4207.  Schools in the Little Rock area interested in attending the Stamp release at Central High School must contact the Little Rock School District Associate Superintendent, Junious Babbs at 501-447-1136.  



Back to the Customer List

Copyright 1997 Arkansas Department of Education. All rights reserved.
Department of Education Home Page