ADE Director's Communication Memo Form

Memo Number : LS-06-029

Date Created : 09/16/2005


Co-op Directors
other: All Principals
LEA Supervisors
EC Coordinators

Type of Memo: Informational
Response Required: No
Section:   Learning Services - Dr. Diana Julian, Assistant Commissioner
Special Ed Programs: Family Mental Health Services and Medicaid Enrollment

Regulatory Authority:

Contact Person:
Mr. Tony Boaz

Phone Number:


Arkansas school personnel may access mental health services for Hurricane Katrina evacuees on an expedited basis from area Community Mental Health Centers (CMHCs).  The attached directory provides contact information and the counties served by each CMHC.  

The Community Mental Health Center can provide consultation with school personnel, as well as, assessment and treatment services for individual students and the students' families.  If the school has numerous evacuees enrolled and significant services are needed, school personnel may work with the CMHC to develop a collaborative plan for meeting the mental health needs of students.  School districts in the School-Based Mental Health Network should contact the local program coordinator for needed services.

School districts serving children and families from Alabama, Mississippi, and Louisiana may enroll as Medicaid providers for any of these states.  To obtain more information, contact Tony Boaz or access the link at  

For assistance in enrolling evacuees in the Medicaid or ARKids First programs, schools should contact the local Medicaid County Office.  Information on the locations of county offices can be found at this link:


Back to the Customer List

Copyright 1997 Arkansas Department of Education. All rights reserved.
Department of Education Home Page