ADE Director's Communication Memo Form

Memo Number : COM-06-031

Date Created : 10/06/2005


Co-op Directors
Secondary Principals
Elementary Principals
Middle School Principals
High School Principals

Type of Memo: Informational
Response Required: Yes
Section:   Accountability - Dr. Charity Smith, Director
Catastrophic Counseling Techniques Training

Regulatory Authority:

Contact Person:
Dr. Charity Smith

Phone Number:


Thanks for continuing to partner with the Arkansas Department of Education in welcoming students and families displaced by Hurricanes Katrina and Rita to schools and communities.  In response to the needs of educators working with students displaced and traumatized by the unprecedented Gulf Coast Disasters, the Arkansas Department of Education, Governor’s Office, University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences: Department of Psychiatry, Arkansas School-Based Mental Health Network, National Association of Social Workers, and the William Jefferson Clinton Foundation are collaboratively hosting a Catastrophic Counseling Techniques Training on Wednesday, October 19, 2005, from 8:30 a.m. to 3:30 p.m. in the Great Hall at the William Jefferson Clinton Library in Little Rock, Arkansas.  The primary focus of the training is to help educators refocus on crisis responder skills for students Pre-K through Grade 12.

The Catastrophic Counseling Techniques Training is open to administrators, special educators, counselors, homeless liaisons, and other personnel or designees helping students cope with trauma, depression, loss, conflict and fear as a result of Hurricanes Katrina and Rita.  Approximately two hundred (200) slots are available for the training.  Districts are encouraged to send a team of two members consisting of an administrator and school personnel, as previously described, scheduled to provide training for district personnel.  Priority will be given to districts that have large enrollments of displaced students.  Six hours of professional development will be credited and lunch will be provided.

Please complete the attached registration form.  The registration form must be submitted no later than 4:30 p.m. on Monday, October 17, 2005, via fax to 501-682-7966 or e-mail to or mail to the Arkansas Department of Education, Office of Public School Academic Accountability, #4 State Capitol Mall, Suite 110 B, Little Rock, Arkansas 72201.  

For more information, please contact Dr. Charity Smith, Director of Public School Academic Accountability at 501-682-4207 or Susan Underwood, State Coordinator of Homeless Education at 501-682-5761.


Back to the Customer List

Copyright 1997 Arkansas Department of Education. All rights reserved.
Department of Education Home Page