Act 1573 of 2005, authorized the Arkansas State Police to increase the fee for non-criminal justice background checks processed by the Arkansas State Police by means other than the internet.
Effective January 1, 2006, the fee for the Arkansas State Police Background check will be increased from $20.00 to $23.00 anytime the background check request is received by the State Police via any means other than the internet.
Fees for use of the on-line criminal background check system will not be affected by this increase.
Fees for the Federal Bureau of Investigation fingerprint based background checks are not affected by this increase and will remain at $24.00.
Attached is the memo from the Arkansas State Police regarding this fee increase.
For more information on how to register for the on-line Arkansas State Police background check service, individuals may go to https://www.ark.org/criminal/index.php.