ADE Director's Communication Memo Form

Memo Number : RT-06-010

Date Created : 02/09/2006


Co-op Directors

Type of Memo: Informational
Response Required: No
Section:   Research and Technology - Mr. James Boardman, Assistant Commissioner
E-Rate Legislative Report

Regulatory Authority:

Contact Person:
Becky Rains

Phone Number:


Recently, the Joint Committee for Advanced Communications and Technology requested and received a report from the Department of Information Systems (DIS) about the extent to which Arkansas schools participate in the E-Rate program. The committee also requested and received additional information about schools that were not filing for E-Rate funds.

The 49 school districts that did not apply for E-Rate funds in 2005-2006 may be contacted by their Legislators. The committee is concerned that the schools in these districts are not receiving all of the benefits available through the E-Rate program and wants to explore options of assistance.

DIS applies for all services provided by DIS and the Arkansas Department of Education (ADE). Schools are encouraged to apply for additional E-Rate benefits including those supporting local telecommunication services.

DIS coordinates E-Rate filing efforts for the State of Arkansas. Becky Rains is the state E-Rate Coordinator and is available to help with any questions about the E-Rate program. Training sessions are also conducted periodically to work step-by-step through the E-Rate process. Becky Rains can be contacted for assistance at 501-682-4003 or via e-mail at


Back to the Customer List

Copyright 1997 Arkansas Department of Education. All rights reserved.
Department of Education Home Page