ADE Director's Communication Memo Form

Memo Number : COM-06-074

Date Created : 03/29/2006


Co-op Directors
other: Guidance Counselors
Transportation Directors

Type of Memo: Informational
Response Required: Yes
Section:   Facilities and Transportation - Douglas Eaton, Director
SESPTC Student Scholarship

Regulatory Authority:

Contact Person:
Mike Simmons

Phone Number:


The Southeastern States Pupil Transportation Conference (SESPTC) is a Virginia non-profit corporation created over fifty-five years ago to host an annual conference focused on educating student transportation professionals working in the southeast. The member southeastern states are Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia, and West Virginia. The Conference is held annually, with the first held in 1951. Each state is allowed to nominate 25 delegates to attend the annual Conference. Over the last few years, with the support of industry vendors, the SESPTC has accumulated funds, which the SESPTC Board of Directors has decided to disburse in the form of student education scholarships. This year the SESPTC Board has approved the award of one $1,000 scholarship to a deserving student in each of the fourteen southeastern states.

The scholarship funds must be used to cover education expenses at a post-secondary educational institution and will be paid to the institution in support of a studentís 2006-2007 school year expenses. The SESPTC Board has not yet determined how future scholarships will be awarded, but plans are to create at least one multi-year scholarship that will be awarded to a deserving student whose parent/guardian works in school transportation in the southeast.

The attached scholarship application form provides additional information about the scholarship including how a parent and student qualify, the application, required supporting documentation, and how the deserving student will be selected.

To qualify, a parent/guardian family must have a Gross Taxable Income less than $60,000 for each of the past five tax years. A parent or guardian of the student must have been actively employed in public school transportation for the past five years. A student qualifies by graduating from a public high school and attending a post-secondary educational institution in 2006. The $1,000 scholarship can be used for any part of the studentís 2006-2007 school year tuition, books or fees.

To assure that all eligible students have an opportunity to apply for this scholarship, please help distribute this information to the local transportation staff and high school counselors. Eligible applicants include any of the following transportation staff: bus drivers, bus aides/monitors, bus mechanics, directors of student transportation services, bus supervisors, bus driver trainers, bus safety inspectors, and a host of other positions either employed by a school district, the school district contractors, a state school, or the state department of education.

Applications must be post marked no later than April 30, 2006.
The awards will be announced before July 14, 2006.

Application should be addressed to:
SESPTC Scholarship Committee
Attn: Mike Simmons, Program Manager
Public School Academic Facilities and Transportation
501 Woodlane, Suite 600
Little Rock, AR 72201


Back to the Customer List

Copyright © 1997 Arkansas Department of Education. All rights reserved.
Department of Education Home Page