ADE Director's Communication Memo Form

Memo Number : COM-06-075

Date Created : 03/29/2006


Co-op Directors
other: Transportation Directors

Type of Memo: Informational
Response Required: No
Section:   Facilities and Transportation - Douglas Eaton, Director
Arkansas Association of Pupil Transportation

Regulatory Authority:

Contact Person:
Mike Simmons

Phone Number:


The 29th annual Arkansas Association of Pupil Transportation (AAPT) Conference will be held June 27–28, 2006, at the Hot Springs Convention Center. The association encourages all transportation professionals to become a member and get involved in the issues that affect school transportation.

Public school transportation in Arkansas is changing rapidly. With new transportation programs now in place and another legislative session on the horizon, all transportation personnel will benefit from this year’s conference.

The AAPT officers are planning a wide range of topics and speakers. The sessions will range from “security issues” to ‘upcoming legislation”.

A tentative list of topics for this year’s agenda includes School Bus Security, School Bus Watch (Overview), Media Relations, Gearing up for Bus Inspections, Driver Training, Drug & Alcohol Testing, A Look at Legislation, Operation Lifesaver, Announcement of the SESPTC Scholarship winner and our Round Table Discussions.

Registration will be 7:00 a.m. until 9:00 a.m. on Tuesday, June 27, 2006. Attached is a pre-registration form to be completed and returned by June 24, 2006.

The Austin Hotel has reserved a block of rooms for AAPT conference members. Each member will be responsible for making hotel reservation. To make reservations and receive a room rate of $75.00 plus tax call 877-623-6697 and make identification as an AAPT member.


Back to the Customer List

Copyright © 1997 Arkansas Department of Education. All rights reserved.
Department of Education Home Page