ADE Director's Communication Memo Form

Memo Number : COM-06-110

Date Created : 06/28/2006


Co-op Directors
Secondary Principals
Elementary Principals
Middle School Principals
High School Principals
other: Federal Coordina

Type of Memo: Regulatory
Response Required: No
Section:   Special Assistant - Ms. Janinne Riggs
No Child Left Behind - Displaced Students

Regulatory Authority:
No Child Left Behind

Contact Person:
Janinne Riggs

Phone Number:


The U.S. Department of Education has approved the Arkansas Department of Education's (ADE) request for a flexibility agreement under section 9401 of the ESEA for the creation of a separate subgroup for students displaced by Hurricanes Katrina and Rita for adequate yearly progress (AYP) decisions based on the 2005-2006 school year. Approval is conditioned on Arkansas's fulfilling the following conditions:

1. Arkansas must include the displaced students subgroup in the 2005-2006 AYP calculations for participation at the school, district and State levels;

2. Arkansas must report achievement for the displaced students subgroup at the State and district levels just like other subgroups in its 2006 State and District Report Cards; and

3. Arkansas must automatically enroll these students in the State's academic intervention and/or remedial education programs (academic improvement plan - AIP) if a student scores below proficient on the 2005-2006 assessments.

The State must also submit a report to the Department detailing the number of displaced students enrolled in an AIP. At a later date, the ADE will distribute through a Commissioner's Memo a form that district's will be required to complete regarding the number of displaced students required to have an AIP.


Back to the Customer List

Copyright 1997 Arkansas Department of Education. All rights reserved.
Department of Education Home Page