ADE Director's Communication Memo Form

Memo Number : COM-07-028

Date Created : 08/29/2006


Co-op Directors
Secondary Principals
Elementary Principals

Type of Memo: Regulatory
Response Required: Yes
Section:   Special Assistant - Dee Cox
Teacher of the Year 2006-2007

Regulatory Authority:
Act 17 of 2006 First Extraordinary Session, Codified at Ark. Code Ann. 6-17-2501 et seq.

Contact Person:
Janinne Riggs

Phone Number:


The Arkansas Department of Education (ADE) announces a request for nominations for 2006-2007 Arkansas Teacher of the Year (ATOY). Each district is encouraged to designate a local district Teacher of the Year. The designated teacher is invited to complete the attached application packet.

Funding from the Walton Family Foundation will allow the ADE to recognize one teacher from each of the 15 regional service cooperatives and one from Pulaski County as regional Teacher of the Year Finalists. Each of the recognized teachers will received a cash award in the amount of $1,000.

Applicants should follow the directions in the packet carefully and be precise and focused in responding to the essay items. Completed packets, including one set with original signatures and six additional copies, must be returned to the ADE by 4:30 p.m. on Friday, September 29, 2006.

Four teachers will be selected from the regional finalists as ATOY semi-finalists. The selection panel will visit each of the selected teachers in the classroom prior to naming the 2007 ATOY. The ATOY will receive an additional cash award in the amount of $14,000.

The ATOY will be placed on administrative paid leave for one year to Work-in-Residence with the ADE and to develop professional development and provide technical assistance to teachers and students, etc. The ATOY of the Year will serve as ambassador for education in Arkansas, making public appearances across the state. The ATOY is nominated to represent Arkansas in the National Teacher of the Year Program.

For additional information, please contact:

Arkansas Department of Education
Gloria Stephens, Coordinator
Arkansas Teacher of the Year Program
Office of Professional Development and
Special Projects
#4 Capitol Mall, Room 404-B
Little Rock, AR 72201
501-682-5169 or E-mail:

Application Outline
Portfolio Requirements Checklist
AR Application Form
General Guidelines and Information
ATOY Job Description


Back to the Customer List

Copyright 1997 Arkansas Department of Education. All rights reserved.
Department of Education Home Page