ADE Director's Communication Memo Form

Memo Number : LS-07-037

Date Created : 09/05/2006


Co-op Directors
Secondary Principals
Elementary Principals

Type of Memo: Regulatory
Response Required: No
Section:   Learning Services - Dr. Laura Bednar, Assistant Commissioner
On-campus Standards Review (OSR) Training Videoconference

Regulatory Authority:
Ark. Code Ann. § 6-15-202

Contact Person:
Frank Wimer

Phone Number:


As mandated by Ark.Code Ann. § 6-15-202 (e), the Arkansas Department of Education (ADE) shall conduct an On-campus Standards Review (OSR) of each school district no less than one (1) time every four (4) years. ADE may visit any school campus for an OSR at other times, as determined necessary by the Commissioner of Education or the State Board of Education.

Monitoring reviews for the 2006–2007 school year will occur between October 2006 and April 2007. Please refer to the attachment indicating the school year in which school districts are scheduled for the four (4) year monitoring. Team leaders from the Standards Assurance Unit (SAU) will contact district superintendents by telephone in advance of the OSR to outline the monitoring review procedures and to confirm date and time. Following contact, the team leader will send the superintendent a packet with details to assist districts and school officials in preparing for the monitoring review.

An OSR Checklist (see attachment) will be used during the monitoring review. For each item on the checklist, support documentation should be prepared by the district for the OSR team. Checklist documentation for review should be organized by item number to facilitate the monitoring review process. An administrative staff member or other licensed district personnel familiar with the process must be available for questions during OSR. Some items have been placed on the checklist as a technical assistance tool to assist districts in maintaining compliance with these areas. These technical assistance tool items, placed on the checklist after the signature page, will not need folders prepared for the OSR. These items are monitored by the ADE sections (including, but not limited to Equity, Gifted/Talented Education, Special Education) and/or included on the Cycle 2 Statement of Assurance.

Pursuant to Ark. Code Ann. § 6-15-206, districts in which schools are assigned a final accreditation status of accredited-probationary may be reviewed at an interval more frequently than once every four (4) years. Ark. Code Ann. § 6-15-206 and Arkansas Department of Education Standards for Accreditation Rule 23.03 require the ADE to annually review all reports and investigate suspected deficiencies in meeting standards. Each year the ADE shall conduct an OSR of a selected number of school districts and review those schools for compliance with the standards. The SAU or the ADE shall notify all schools not meeting the Standards for Accreditation of deficiencies by May 15 of each year. In the year of the OSR, the assignment of the annual accreditation status will result from the Cycle 2 data submission and the OSR.

To assist school districts in preparing for the 2006-2007 OSR, the Standards Assurance Unit will host a training session via videoconference. The session has been scheduled for Wednesday, September 20, 2006, from 9:00 a.m. to 12:00 p.m. Roll call will begin at 8:30 a.m. Coordinators for this training are: Dr. Diana Julian, Assistant Commissioner-Learning Services; Annette Barnes, Coordinator-School Improvement; and Frank Wimer, Unit Leader-Standards Assurance.

The following is list of the sites for the videoconference:

**ADE-Main (Arkansas Department of Education)–Little Rock
**ADE-Maumelle V
**Arch Ford ESC–Plumerville
**Arkansas River ESC– Pine Bluff
**Crowley’s Ridge EC–Harrisburg
**Dawson ESC–Arkadelphia
**DeQueen/Mena EC–Gillham
**Great Rivers Co-op–W. Helena
**Northcentral Arkansas ESC–Melbourne
**Northeast Arkansas EC–Walnut Ridge
**Northwest ESC–Farmington
**Ozarks Unlimited Resources Co-op–Harrison
**Southcentral SC–Camden
**Southeast Arkansas ESC–Monticello
**Southwest Arkansas EC–Hope
**Western Arkansas Co-op–Branch
**Wilbur D. Mills ESC-Beebe


Back to the Customer List

Copyright © 1997 Arkansas Department of Education. All rights reserved.
Department of Education Home Page