ADE Director's Communication Memo Form

Memo Number : LS-07-072

Date Created : 01/03/2007


Co-op Directors
High School Principals

Type of Memo: Informational
Response Required: Optional
Section:   Learning Services - Dr. Laura Bednar, Assistant Commissioner
2007 National Youth Science Camp

Regulatory Authority:

Contact Person:
Bill Fulton

Phone Number:


Two (2) Arkansas high school seniors will receive a full scholarship to exchange ideas with scientists and other professionals from the academic and corporate worlds. The nearly month-long experience includes lectures and hands-on research projects presented by scientists from across the nation, overnight expeditions into the National Forest, and a visit to Washington,D.C. The selected delegates must not only demonstrate academic achievement in science, but also show potential for thoughtful scientific leadership.

The National Youth Science Camp experience is offered at no cost to the participants so that selected delegates may attend regardless of financial status. Contributions to the National Youth Science Foundation® allow delegates to participate in this once in a lifetime experience. Educational and recreational programming as well as meals, lodging, and round-trip air passage on scheduled airlines are provided free of charge.

Delegates arrive in Charleston, West Virginia, on Wednesday, June 27, 2007, and depart on Monday, July 23, 2007. The Science Camp is held at Bartow in the eastern mountains of West Virginia near the Monongahela National Forest. Application forms are attached or may be found at the Science Camp website at and must be submitted directly to Arkansas’ selection coordinator at the address listed below. The application deadline is February 16, 2007.

Bill Fulton, K-12 Science Specialist
Presidential Awards Coordinator
Arkansas Department of Education
#4 State Capitol Mall, Room 101-A
Little Rock, Arkansas 72201

General questions about the camp can be answered by Mr. Fulton.


Back to the Customer List

Copyright © 1997 Arkansas Department of Education. All rights reserved.
Department of Education Home Page