ADE Director's Communication Memo Form

Memo Number : LS-07-074

Date Created : 12/29/2006


Co-op Directors
Elementary Principals
Middle School Principals
High School Principals

Type of Memo: Informational
Response Required: No
Section:   Learning Services - Dr. Laura Bednar, Assistant Commissioner
2007 Presidential Awards In Mathematics and Science

Regulatory Authority:

Contact Person:
Bill Fulton

Phone Number:


Each year, the President of the United States recognizes outstanding kindergarten - 6th grade or 7th 12th grade mathematics and science teachers by awarding the Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching (PAEMST). Awards are given to teachers in each state and four U.S. jurisdictions. The PAEMST program is administered by the National Science Foundation (NSF) on behalf of the White House. The 2007 PAEMST program will honor 7th 12th grade mathematics and science teachers, while the 2008 award program will focus on kindergarten - 6th grade teachers.

Each awardee receives a $10,000 award from NSF and gifts from a broad range of donors. Awardees and guests of the awardee are honored during events that take place in Washington, D. C., over the course of a week-long celebration. These events include an awards ceremony, celebratory receptions and banquets, and professional development programs.

Teachers may nominate themselves or be nominated by someone else for this award (e.g.,principals, teachers, parents, or other members of the general public) by completing the nomination form available on the PAEMST web site (see below). The nomination form must be submitted to the PAEMST state coordinator, whose name and address can be found below or at A copy of the nomination form should be retained by the author, as well as by the nominee.

Administrators and teachers may download a copy of the application from the NSF website, or print the attached forms. PAEMST can provide additional information. The application deadline is May 1, 2007. Completed applications, postmarked by May 1, 2007, must be submitted to the appropriate state coordinator as listed below.

For mathematics nominations:

Charlotte, Marvel, K-12 Mathematics Specialist
Attention: Roy Barnes, State PAEMST Coordinator for Mathematics
Arkansas Department of Education
#4 State Capitol Mall, Room 107-A
Little Rock, Arkansas 72201
Phone: 501-682-5296

For science nominations:

Bill Fulton, K-12 Science Specialist
State Coordinator for Science
Arkansas Department of Education
#4 State Capitol Mall, Room 101-A
Little Rock, Arkansas 72201
Phone: 501-683-0910

General questions for both math and science can be answered by Mr. Fulton.


Back to the Customer List

Copyright 1997 Arkansas Department of Education. All rights reserved.
Department of Education Home Page