ADE Director's Communication Memo Form

Memo Number : COM-07-079

Date Created : 02/13/2007


Co-op Directors
other: All Principals; Guidance Counselors;Transportation Supervisors

Type of Memo: Informational
Response Required: No
Section:   Facilities and Transportation - Douglas Eaton, Director
Arkansas Safe Routes to School Program

Regulatory Authority:

Contact Person:
Mike Simmons

Phone Number:


The Arkansas State Highway and Transportation Department (AHTD) has announced the availability of applications for the new “Arkansas Safe Routes to School” program.

The program uses 100% federal funding to implement educational programs and construct infrastructure projects to provide a safe environment for children in kindergarten through eighth grade to walk and bicycle to school.

Examples of eligible educational programs are: the creation and reproduction of promotional and educational materials, bicycle and pedestrian safety curricula, Safe Routes to School training workshops that target school- and community-level audiences, modest incentives for Safe Routes to School contests and others.

Eligible infrastructure projects can include: consultant services associated with the development of comprehensive Safe Routes to School plans, sidewalk improvements, traffic calming and speed reduction improvements, pedestrian and bicycle crossing improvements, on-street bicycle facilities, off-street bicycle and pedestrian facilities, secure bicycle parking facilities and traffic diversion improvements.

Another portion of the program, the “Safe Routes to School Startup Award,” is designed to enable schools to establish Safe Routes Coalitions, develop comprehensive local Safe Routes to School plans and stage a Safe Route event such as Walk to School Day.

Applications and information about this new program are available at After opening the web site, click on the Safe Routes to School link in order to access the grant applications and information.


Back to the Customer List

Copyright © 1997 Arkansas Department of Education. All rights reserved.
Department of Education Home Page