ADE Director's Communication Memo Form

Memo Number : LS-07-097

Date Created : 03/15/2007


Co-op Directors
Elementary Principals
Middle School Principals
other: Social Studies Dept. Chairs
and Teachers

Type of Memo: Informational
Response Required: No
Section:   Learning Services - Dr. Laura Bednar, Assistant Commissioner
Preserve America History Teacher of the Year Award

Regulatory Authority:

Contact Person:
Maggie Herrick

Phone Number:


The Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History and Preserve America announce the fourth annual Preserve America History Teacher of the Year Award, which honors outstanding teachers of American history across the country. The Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History, founded in 1994, promotes the study and love of American history. Increasingly national and international in scope, the Institute’s programs and initiatives serve audiences ranging from students and scholars to the general public. Preserve America is a White House initiative that encourages and supports community efforts to preserve America’s historic, cultural, and natural heritage.

The 2007 History Teacher of the Year Award, under the direction of Preserve America, will recognize an outstanding elementary educator and the crucial importance of American history education in grades K-6. All elementary teachers who have responsibility for teaching American history are eligible for nomination. Finalists are selected from each of the fifty states, the District of Columbia, Department of Defense schools, and U.S. territories. These winners, in turn, become finalists for the National History of the Year designation. The national honoree is recognized as the National Preserve America History Teacher of the Year at a ceremony in Washington, D.C., or New York City.

Attached is the Preserve America 2007 Award information and application procedure sheet. All first-round nominations and support letters must be postmarked by March 30, 2007. All second-round additional materials for consideration must be postmarked no later than May 1, 2007. Mail all information to the state coordinator, Maggie Herrick, Arkansas Department of Education, Curriculum, Assessment and Research, 4 State Capitol Mall, Room 105-A, Little Rock, AR 72201.


Back to the Customer List

Copyright © 1997 Arkansas Department of Education. All rights reserved.
Department of Education Home Page