ADE Director's Communication Memo Form

Memo Number : LS-07-122

Date Created : 05/04/2007


Co-op Directors
Secondary Principals
Elementary Principals
other: Curriculum Coordinators
Social Studies Teachers

Type of Memo: Informational
Response Required: No
Section:   Learning Services - Dr. Laura Bednar, Assistant Commissioner
Arkansas History Videoconference

Regulatory Authority:

Contact Person:
Maggie Herrick, Sheree Baird

Phone Number:


The Arkansas Department of Education (ADE) will broadcast an interactive videoconference workshop on Arkansas History and the newly revised Social Studies Framework on Tuesday, June 26, 2007. This workshop is a collaborative effort between the ADE and several award-winning educators. The morning session for K-6 educators will begin at 9:00 a.m. and will end at 11:30 a.m. The afternoon session for 7-12 educators will begin at 1:00 p.m. and will end at 4:00 p.m. Both of the Arkansas history workshop sessions will be highly interactive. Educators in grades K-6 will discover new and innovative ways to meet the Arkansas history requirements of the revised Arkansas Social Studies Framework, and Arkansas history teachers will gain insight into the teaching of the new course for grades 7 or 8, or grades 9-12. Highly qualified social studies educators will demonstrate hands-on activities, which can be used in the classroom. Participants will also have time to work in collaborative groups and create lesson plans, units, thematic modules, and activities for immediate use in the classroom. The Social Studies Framework may be accessed at

A list of participating sites is attached. Videoconference participants need to register with the participating site as well as register electronically with the ADE. Please contact the educational cooperative teacher center coordinator regarding site attendance. Electronic registration for the ADE may be accessed at and must be submitted by June 18, 2007. For questions, please contact: Maggie Herrick, Arkansas Department of Education, 501-682-5303, or e-mail


Back to the Customer List

Copyright 1997 Arkansas Department of Education. All rights reserved.
Department of Education Home Page