ADE Director's Communication Memo Form

Memo Number : COM-08-024

Date Created : 08/28/2007


Co-op Directors
Secondary Principals
Elementary Principals
Middle School Principals
High School Principals

Type of Memo: Regulatory
Response Required: Yes
Section:   Special Assistant - Ms. Janinne Riggs
Teacher of the Year 2007-2008

Regulatory Authority:
Ark. Code Ann. § 6-17-2501 et seq.

Contact Person:
Gloria Stephens

Phone Number:


The Arkansas Department of Education (ADE) announces a request for nominations for the 2007-2008 Arkansas Teacher of the Year (ATOY). Each district is encouraged to designate a local district Teacher of the Year. The designated teacher is invited to complete the attached application packet.

Also, the ATOY application packet can be printed from the Arkansas Teacher of the Year program webpage:

Funding from the Walton Family Foundation will allow the ADE to recognize one teacher from each of the areas served by the 15 regional service cooperatives and one from Pulaski County as ATOY regional finalists. Each such recognized teacher will receive a cash award in the amount of $1,000.

Applicants should follow the directions in the packet carefully, while being precise and focused in responding to the essay items. Completed packets, including one set with original signatures and six additional copies, must be returned to the Department of Education on or before the close of business (4:30 p.m.) on Friday, September 28, 2007.

Four teachers will be selected from the regional finalists as ATOY state semi-finalists. The selection panel will visit each selected teacher’s classroom prior to naming the 2008 ATOY. The ATOY will receive an additional cash award in the amount of $14,000.

The ATOY will be placed on administrative paid leave for one year to Work-in-Residence with the ADE and to develop professional development and provide technical assistance to teachers and students, etc. The ATOY will serve as ambassador for education in Arkansas, making public appearances across the state. The ATOY is nominated to represent Arkansas in the National Teacher of the Year Program.

For additional information, please contact:

Arkansas Department of Education
Gloria Stephens, Coordinator
Arkansas Teacher of the Year Program
Professional Development Division
#4 Capitol Mall, Room 401-B
Little Rock, AR 72201
501-682-5169 or


Back to the Customer List

Copyright © 1997 Arkansas Department of Education. All rights reserved.
Department of Education Home Page