ADE Director's Communication Memo Form

Memo Number : LS-08-049

Date Created : 11/02/2007


Co-op Directors
other: GT Supervisors
GT Coordinators

Type of Memo: Informational
Response Required: Optional
Section:   Learning Services - Dr. Alice Barnes Rose, Assistant Commissioner
Act 56: Recognition of Outstanding Gifted Programs

Regulatory Authority:
Ark. Code Ann. § 6-42-104 (h)(6)

Contact Person:
Ann M. Biggers, Administrator, Programs for Gifted Education

Phone Number:


Ark. Code Ann. § 6-42-104(h)(6) (as amended by Act 56 of the 1983 First Extraordinary Session), states that the Governor’s Advisory Council for the Education of Gifted and Talented Children shall:

“Select on an annual basis not more than three educational programs for gifted and talented students operated by local school districts for recognition as outstanding programs. The programs so recognized shall be eligible to receive an award of not more than $3,000 from funds appropriated to the Arkansas Department of Education for the purpose of making awards to outstanding educational programs.”

Attached is an application with detailed instructions to be used when submitting a district’s program to be considered as an outstanding gifted and talented program. Award recipients for the past three years are not eligible to apply for a 2008 award. These districts are: 2005 – Riverside, Beebe, and Pulaski County Special School District; 2006 – Mayflower, Atkins, and Fort Smith; 2007 – Weiner, Fordyce, and Fayetteville.

Please make this information available to the person in charge of gifted programs. APPLICATIONS MUST BE POSTMARKED NO LATER THAN JANUARY 4, 2008. Mailing address is on the application instruction page.

Awards will be presented at the Arkansans for Gifted and Talented Education (AGATE) Conference, February 21, 2008, in Little Rock. Selected districts will be contacted no later than February 13-15, 2008, and invited to attend the awards luncheon at the conference.


Back to the Customer List

Copyright © 1997 Arkansas Department of Education. All rights reserved.
Department of Education Home Page