ADE Director's Communication Memo Form

Memo Number : COM-08-075

Date Created : 01/10/2008


Co-op Directors
Elementary Principals
Middle School Principals
High School Principals

Type of Memo: Informational
Response Required: No
Section:   Central Administration - Dr. Diana Julian, Deputy Commissioner
2008 Presidential Awards In Mathematics and Science Nomination Form

Regulatory Authority:

Contact Person:
Cathy Mackey

Phone Number:


Each year, the President of the United States recognizes outstanding kindergarten grade 6 or grades 712 mathematics and science teachers by awarding the Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching (PAEMST). Awards are given to teachers in each state and four U.S. jurisdictions. The PAEMST program is administered by the National Science Foundation (NSF) on behalf of the White House. The 2008 PAEMST program will honor kindergarten grade 6 mathematics and science teachers, while the 2009 award program will focus on grades 712 mathematics and science teachers.

Each awardee receives a $10,000 award from NSF and gifts from a broad range of donors. Awardees and guests of the awardee are honored during events that take place in Washington, D. C., over the course of a week-long celebration. These events include an awards ceremony, celebratory receptions and banquets, and professional development programs.

As enacted by Congress in 1983, the President makes up to 108 awards each year. The 2008 call for nominations marks the 25th year of the program. As the 25th anniversary (1983-2008) of this extraordinary program of recognition and excellence is celebrated, please support exemplary mathematics and science teaching by nominating a teacher for this award.

The nomination form for 2008 is available on the PAEMST Web site at and must be submitted online this year. The PAEMST Web site can provide additional information about the awards, nomination, application, selection, awardees, and state coordinators. The online nomination is due March 1, 2008.

Contact Roy Barnes, State Coordinator for Mathematics or Cathy Mackey, State Coordinator for Science, to answer questions about the awards program and provide assistance and mentoring to the nominees and awardees. The state coordinators for mathematics or science may be contacted through the Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching (PAEMST) Web site


Back to the Customer List

Copyright 1997 Arkansas Department of Education. All rights reserved.
Department of Education Home Page