ADE Director's Communication Memo Form


Memo Number : LIC-08-029

Date Created : 01/16/2008

Attention:

Superintendents
Co-op Directors
Elementary Principals
Middle School Principals
High School Principals
other: Teachers
Counselors

Type of Memo: Informational
Response Required: No
   
Section:   Human Resources/Licensure - Beverly A. Williams, Assistant Commissioner
Subject:
2008 National Board for Professional Teaching Standards Fee Support Orientations

Regulatory Authority:
Act 1060 of 2001 as Amended by Act 1083 of 2003

Contact Person:
Michael Rowland

Phone Number:
501-682-1146

E-mail:
michael.rowland@arkansas.gov

Orientations for Arkansas public school teachers and school counselors interested in funding support for the National Board for Professional Teaching Standards certification process will be offered on the following six (6) days, from 9:00 am to noon each day.

Saturday, March 8, 2008, Henderson State University, Arkadelphia, The Garrison Center
Saturday, March 15, 2008, University of Arkansas Monticello, Fine Arts Center Auditorium
Saturday, March 22, 2008, Arkansas State University, Jonesboro, Student Union Auditorium (3rd floor)
Saturday, April 5, 2008, Northwest Educational Service Cooperative, Farmington
Saturday, April 12, 2008, Arkansas Rivers Educational Cooperative, Pine Bluff, Dewell Camp Conference Room
Saturday, May 3, 2008, Pulaski Tech College, The Campus Center

Interested individuals must register at the ADE National Board Certification Program website (http://arkansased.org/teachers/certification_program.html). There is no cost for attendance, and refreshments will be provided by the Arkansas Department of Education.

State fee support consists of the $2,500 fee payment and reimbursement to the school district for up to three (3) days released time to work on certification. To qualify for this support a teacher or counselor must:
a) be licensed as an Arkansas teacher or school counselor,
b) have taught or served as a school counselor in an Arkansas public school system at least three (3) years prior to candidacy,
c) be currently teaching or serving as a counselor in an Arkansas public school, and
d) attend an orientation.

NOTE: The required three years experience in an Arkansas public school must be with an initial (3-year) and/or a standard (5-year) teaching license in order to receive the state funding application. Years taught with a provisional (1-year) license do not count toward the required three years experience.

Candidates who do not achieve Certification must repay state funds, as must Nationally Board Certified Teachers who do not comply with any legal requirements concerning teaching tenure following certification.

Questions may be addressed to Mr. Michael Rowland at michael.rowland@arkansas.gov.

Attachments:
    None

Back to the Customer List

Copyright 1997 Arkansas Department of Education. All rights reserved.
Department of Education Home Page