ADE Director's Communication Memo Form

Memo Number : COM-08-088

Date Created : 02/08/2008


Co-op Directors
other: LEA Supervisors
EC Coordinators
Other Interested Parties

Type of Memo: Informational
Response Required: Optional
Section:   Central Administration - Dr. Diana Julian, Deputy Commissioner
Special Ed Programs: Special Ed Rules and Regulations Public Review and Comments

Regulatory Authority:
(IDEA) 20 U..S.C.A., 1400 et seq.; Ark. Code Ann. 6-41-207

Contact Person:
Ms. Marcia Harding, Associate Director

Phone Number:


On Monday, February 11, 2008, the Arkansas State Board of Education approved for public review the proposed revisions to the Special Education and Related Services Procedural Requirements and Program Standards and the Special Education Eligibility Criteria and Program Guidelines for Children with Disabilities Ages 3-21. The 60-day public comment period will run from February 12, 2008, through April 11, 2008. The 30-day written comment period will run from February 18, 2008, to 4:30 p.m. on March 18, 2008.

Written comments should be submitted to:

Marcia Harding, Associate Director,
Arkansas Department of Education,
Special Education,
1401 W. Capitol, Suite 450,
Little Rock, AR 72201

Comments may be made in person at any of the public hearings. Public hearings will be held from 1:00 p.m. to 3:00 p.m. at the following locations:

March 10, 2008 - Fine Arts Building Auditorium, Clarksville High School
1703 Clark Road, Clarksville, AR

March 12, 2008 - Forrest City Civic Center, Ferguson Room
1335 North Washington, Forrest City, AR

March 14, 2008 - Auditorium, Arkansas Department of Education,
Arch Ford Education Building, #4 Capitol Mall, Little Rock, AR

During the public review period, the documents may be accessed online at, selecting the Policy menu, then clicking on Rules and Regulations. The documents may also be obtained on-site at the Arkansas Department of Education, Special Education Office, Monday through Friday between the hours of 8:00 a.m. and 4:30 p.m.


Back to the Customer List

Copyright 1997 Arkansas Department of Education. All rights reserved.
Department of Education Home Page