ADE Director's Communication Memo Form

Memo Number : RT-08-006

Date Created : 02/22/2008


Co-op Directors
other: Technology Directors and Coordinators

Type of Memo: Informational
Response Required: Optional
Section:   Research and Technology - Mr. James Boardman, Assistant Commissioner
Submission of 2009-2012 Technology Plan

Regulatory Authority:

Contact Person:
Wilma Toombs

Phone Number:


Each local school district, open enrollment charter school, and education service cooperative must have an approved technology plan to qualify for participation in No Child Left Behind programs and as a condition to submit and receive E-Rate federal funding. Each year the Department of Information Systems (DIS) files E-Rate applications on behalf of the entities, which qualifies local districts for discounts on technology and connectivity charges. The Schools and Libraries Division, which manages the federal E-Rate program, requires all applicants to have an approved plan that spans July 1, 2009-June 30, 2012.

Under the provisions of the Arkansas State Technology Plan and the Schools and Libraries Division, the Arkansas Department of Education (ADE) will review and approve local district technology plans. Each plan will be reviewed for approval based on the criteria and standards outlined in the attached technology guidelines document. The Department will provide a certificate of approval to certify that plans have been approved in a manner consistent with the criteria of the E-Rate, No Child Left Behind, and Enhance Education Through Technology (EETT) programs.

The 2009-2012 District Technology Plan consists of three attached templates that must be completed and submitted. Guidelines for preparing plans for State review and approval are contained in the attachments to this memo. Each district should provide an original technology plan and two copies stapled in the upper left corner. No notebooks, binders, or special binding will be accepted.

Technology plans will NOT be accepted via fax or email transmission.

The deadline for submission is 4:00 pm Tuesday, April 15, 2008.

Mail to:

Wilma Toombs, Public School Program Advisor
Arkansas Department of Education Technology Center
6020 Ranch Blvd., Suite C8
Little Rock, AR 72223


Back to the Customer List

Copyright 1997 Arkansas Department of Education. All rights reserved.
Department of Education Home Page