ADE Director's Communication Memo Form

Memo Number : LIC-08-044

Date Created : 03/31/2008


Co-op Directors
Secondary Principals
Elementary Principals
other: Teachers

Type of Memo: Informational
Response Required: No
Section:   Human Resources/Licensure - Beverly A. Williams, Assistant Commissioner
Orientation Session Added for NWAESC National Board Teacher Certification Orientations

Regulatory Authority:
Ark. Code Ann. § 6-17-413

Contact Person:
Michael Rowland

Phone Number:


The National Board for Professional Teaching Standards (NBPTS) Support orientation scheduled for Saturday, April 5, 2008, at the Northwest Educational Service Co-op has been expanded to include two sessions:

SESSION 1: Saturday, April 5, 2008, Northwest Educational Service Co-op, Farmington, 8:30 a.m.-11:30 a.m.
SESSION 2: Saturday, April 5, 2008, Northwest Educational Service Co-op, Farmington, 12:30 p.m.-3:30 p.m.

Participants already registered for the Farmington orientation may change from Session 1 to Session 2 if necessary. Instructions will be emailed on how to do so.

State-wide orientations are for Arkansas public school teachers and school counselors interested in information on state and federal funding for the National Board for Professional Teaching Standards certification process. Other orientations are scheduled as follows:

• Saturday, March 29, 2008, University of Arkansas, Monticello, Fine Arts Center Auditorium, 9:00 a.m.-noon
• Saturday, April 5, 2008, Northwest Educational Service Co-op, Farmington, 8:30 a.m.-11:30 a.m. OR 12:30 p.m.-3:30 p.m.
• Saturday, April 12, 2008, Arkansas Rivers Educational Service Co-op, Pine Bluff, Dewell Camp Conference Room, 9:00 a.m.-noon
• Saturday, May 3, 2008, Pulaski Tech College, The Campus Center, 9:00 a.m.-noon

A teacher qualifies to seek state fee support ($2,500 and three days leave to work on certification) only if the teacher:
• is licensed as an Arkansas teacher or school counselor,
• has taught in an Arkansas public school system at least three years prior to candidacy,
• currently teaches in an Arkansas public school, and
• attends an orientation to receive an application.

NOTE: The required three years teaching experience in an Arkansas public school must be with an initial (3-year) and/or standard (5-year) teaching license in order to receive the state funding application. Years taught with a provisional (1-year) license do not count toward the required three years experience.

Unsuccessful state-funded candidates must repay state funds, as must Nationally Board Certified teachers who do not comply with any legal requirements concerning teaching tenure following certification.

Interested individuals are required to register at the Arkansas Department of Education’s National Board Certification Program web site ( There is no cost for attendance, and refreshments will be provided by the Arkansas Department of Education.


Back to the Customer List

Copyright © 1997 Arkansas Department of Education. All rights reserved.
Department of Education Home Page