ADE Director's Communication Memo Form

Memo Number : COM-08-124

Date Created : 05/07/2008


Co-op Directors
other: All Principals

Type of Memo: Informational
Response Required: Optional
Section:   Special Assistant - Ms. Janinne Riggs
SMART Leadership Symposium

Regulatory Authority:

Contact Person:
Janinne Riggs

Phone Number:


The Arkansas Department of Education (ADE) is pleased to invite all Arkansas building level principals and district superintendents to the SMART Leadership Symposium July 16, 2008, 8:30am 4:00pm at the Statehouse Convention Center, Little Rock, AR.

This will serve as the opening event for a multi-year professional development opportunity available to all building level principals focused on leadership. Recognizing the important role that principals play in the overall success of a school, ADE is committed to providing principals with resources to assist in developing and maintaining a successful school.

The SMART Leadership Symposium will feature an outstanding group of highly successful individuals who have served in a variety of district, state and national leadership roles in education including Arkansas Commissioner of Education, Ken James; United States Deputy Secretary of Education, Ray Simon; and Executive Director of the Council of Chief State School Officers, Gene Wilhoit. The agenda will include the announcement of several tools that will be available to all principals during the 2008-2009 school year.

There is no registration fee or charge for materials. Breakfast and lunch will be included. Participants will be responsible for cost associated with travel and lodging if necessary. A block of rooms has been reserved at the following hotels at a special rate* until June 15, 2008. Be sure to mention Smart Leadership Arkansas Department of Education to receive the special rate.

Peabody $82.00** (501-906-4000)
Doubletree $82.00*** (501-372-4371)
Wyndham $82.00 (501-371-9000)
Comfort Inn $82.00 (501-687-7700)

Please complete the attached registration form and return to no later than June 24, 2008. Registration is by email only.

Direct questions to Janinne Riggs, Special Assistant to the Commissioner ( or Deborah Coffman, Associate Director for Professional Development (

* Rates may vary by hotel.
** First 20 rooms get $82.00 rate; balance are at $139.00
***Must have government ID to receive $82.00 rate.


Back to the Customer List

Copyright 1997 Arkansas Department of Education. All rights reserved.
Department of Education Home Page