ADE Director's Communication Memo Form

Memo Number : COM-08-150

Date Created : 05/22/2008


Co-op Directors
other: All Principals
Testing Coordinators
Federal Coordinators

Type of Memo: Regulatory
Response Required: Optional
Section:   Special Assistant - Ms. Janinne Riggs
2008 New School Designation (AYP)

Regulatory Authority:
No Child Left Behind Act 2001

Contact Person:
Janinne Riggs

Phone Number:


The No Child Left Behind (NCLB) Accountability Workbook used for determining Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP) includes a definition for New School that was amended 2008 and approved by the US Department of Education (USDOE). Based on input from the Committee of Practitioners, the amended new school definition allows the new school status to be applied only one time during a three year period.

The definition of a new school can be found in the Workbook located on the Arkansas Department of Education (ADE) website under No Child Left Behind at

Schools eligible for a New School designation should complete the attached Re-Configured Schools form and fax to Fred Hodge at 501-682-5756 by Friday, June 20, 2008.


Back to the Customer List

Copyright 1997 Arkansas Department of Education. All rights reserved.
Department of Education Home Page