ADE Director's Communication Memo Form

Memo Number : COM-09-174

Date Created : 05/12/2009


Co-op Directors
Secondary Principals
Elementary Principals
Middle School Principals
High School Principals
other: Teachers

Type of Memo: Regulatory
Response Required: Yes
Section:   Communications - Julie Thompson, Director
Teacher of the Year 2009 - 2010

Regulatory Authority:
Ark. Code Ann. 6-17-2501 et. seq.

Contact Person:
Gloria Stephens

Phone Number:


The Arkansas Department of Education (ADE) is accepting nominations for the 2009-2010 Arkansas Teacher of the Year (ATOY). Fifteen regional finalists will be recognized at a black-tie optional event the evening of November 6, 2009, at the Arkansas Governor's Mansion, where the three runners-up and the 2009-2010 Arkansas Teacher of the Year will be named. KTHV will televise the awards ceremony this year.

Each school district is encouraged to designate a district Teacher of the Year. It is imperative that each Regional Educational Service Cooperative aand Pulaski County are represented with at least one (1) Teacher of the Year candidate at the state level, and ideally more than one.

The district's designated teacher is invited to download the ATOY application packet from the Arkansas Teacher of the Year program webpage: or complete the attached form.

Funding from The Walton Family Foundation will allow the ADE to recognize one teacher from each of the areas served by the 15 regional service cooperatives and one from Pulaski County as ATOY regional finalists. Each such recognized teacher will receive a cash award in the amount of $1,000 or more.

Applicants should follow the directions in the packet carefully, while being precise and focused in responding to the essay items. Completed packets, including one set with original signatures and six additional copies, must be returned to the Department of Education on or before the close of business (4:30 p.m.) on Friday, August 14, 2009.

Four teachers will be selected from the regional finalists as ATOY state semi-finalists. The selection panel will visit each selected teacher's classroom prior to naming the 2010 ATOY. KTHV will video a profile each of the four finalists at the individual teacher's school as well.

The ATOY will receive an additional cash award of at least $14,000. (Exact cash prize amounts will be announced at later date.)

The ATOY will be placed on administrative paid leave for one year to Work-in-Residence with the ADE and to develop professional development and provide technical assistance to teachers and students. The ATOY will serve as a non-voting member on the Arkansas State Board of Education and as an ambassador for education in Arkansas, making public appearances across the state. The ATOY is nominated to represent Arkansas in the National Teacher of the Year Program.

Again, it is very important that each Regional Educational Service Cooperative and Pulaski County are represented in the TOY process; therefore school district participation should be a priority.

For additional information, please contact:

Arkansas Department of Education
Gloria Stephens, Coordinator
Arkansas Teacher of the Year Program
Four Capitol Mall, Room 402-A
Little Rock, AR 72201
501-682-5169 or


Back to the Customer List

Copyright 1997 Arkansas Department of Education. All rights reserved.
Department of Education Home Page