ADE Director's Communication Memo Form

Memo Number : COM-10-024

Date Created : 08/21/2009


Co-op Directors
Secondary Principals
other: Counselors

Type of Memo: Informational
Response Required: No
Section:   Central Administration - Dr. Diana Julian, Deputy Commissioner
2009-2010 United States Senate Youth Program

Regulatory Authority:

Contact Person:
Maggie Herrick

Phone Number:


The Interim Commissioner of the Arkansas Department of Education (ADE) is privileged to recommend two high school juniors or seniors to serve as delegates from Arkansas to the 48th Annual United States Senate Youth Program (USSYP). Since 1962, two student leaders from each state, the District of Columbia, and the Department of Defense Education Activity have spent one week in Washington, D.C., seeing the national government in action. After visits with national leaders on Capitol Hill and at the White House, the Supreme Court, the Pentagon, and the Department of State, each delegate is awarded a $5,000 college scholarship.

Through the USSYP, over 4,600 young people have had this lifetime experience. Each year, 104 delegates from across the nation have expenses paid as guests of the William Randolph Hearst Foundation. This year’s USSYP will be held in Washington, D.C., from March 6-13, 2010. Applicants must be juniors or seniors interested in government and political science and enrolled in an accredited public or private secondary school. The applicants must currently hold an elective office in a student government, civic, or educational organization officially sponsored by the student's school. Complete information about eligibility is contained in the attached description of the program.

An application, which may be reproduced, is attached, along with guidelines for completing the application process. APPLICATIONS MUST BE POSTMARKED by October 5, 2009. There are no exceptions to this deadline. Late or incomplete applications will be disqualified. A selection committee will screen all eligible applicants and make recommendations to the Commissioner of the Arkansas Department of Education (ADE).

For general program information and rules, please visit the United States Senate Youth Program Web site


Back to the Customer List

Copyright © 1997 Arkansas Department of Education. All rights reserved.
Department of Education Home Page