ADE Director's Communication Memo Form

Memo Number : COM-10-045

Date Created : 09/09/2009


Co-op Directors
other: Transportation Directors

Type of Memo: Informational
Response Required: No
Section:   Facilities and Transportation - Douglas Eaton, Director
School Bus Safety Equipment and Pilot Program Results

Regulatory Authority:
Act 1207 of 2009

Contact Person:
Mike Simmons

Phone Number:


Act 1207 of 2009 amended Ark. Code Title 6, Chapter 19, Subchapter 1 by establishing a School Bus Safety Equipment Pilot Program. This program was funded by the legislature and authorized the Division to institute a grant of equipment program to provide school districts with safety equipment to augment the responsibility of identifying motor vehicle violators who pass a school bus while stopped to load or unload students. The grant of equipment was to be either a video recording device or electronic warning device which will be provided to school districts, based on a competitive grant application.

The division is proud to announce the grant recipients:


Arkadelphia, Bald Knob, Barton Lexa, Bentonville, Brookland, Bryant, Farmington, Fayetteville, Fort Smith, Gravette, Jasper, Jessieville, Lavaca, Little Rock, Marion, Mt. Home, Rogers, Waldron, Warren, Watson Chapel and Woodlawn.

Electronic Signs:

Dover, Gentry, Hot Springs, Rose Bud, Southside and Viola.

School districts will be receiving a letter detailing the instructions on delivery and installation of the cameras and signs. Within 7 to 10 days the school districts receiving cameras will be contacted by the vendor to arrange for installation and training. Sign recipients will be contacted by the Division once the signs have been made and delivery instructions finalized.

Congratulations. It is hoped that this will be a positive step forward in assisting school districts to curb this serious traffic hazard.


Back to the Customer List

Copyright 1997 Arkansas Department of Education. All rights reserved.
Department of Education Home Page