ADE Director's Communication Memo Form

Memo Number : COM-10-069

Date Created : 10/22/2009


Co-op Directors
Middle School Principals
other: Middle School Counselors; Middle School Teachers

Type of Memo: Informational
Response Required: No
Section:   Central Administration - Dr. Diana Julian, Deputy Commissioner
Christopher Columbus Awards Program

Regulatory Authority:

Contact Person:
Maggie Herrick

Phone Number:


The Christopher Columbus Fellowship Foundation, a Federal government agency located in Auburn, New York, is pleased to announce the national Call for Entries for the 2009-2010 “Christopher Columbus Awards” program. The awards challenge students in grades 6, 7, and 8 to explore opportunities for positive change in the local community.

Teams of up to four students and a coach identify a community issue and use the scientific process to reach a solution. Finalist teams win an all-expense paid trip to Walt Disney World to compete for gold medals and United States Savings Bonds.

All relevant information for entering the competition, including the entry components and checklist, entry forms, student guide, and teacher’s guide are available online at The deadline for receipt of the complete entry packet is Monday, February 8, 2010.

For additional information and competition guidelines, please contact Stephanie Hallman at 800-291-6020, extension 3154, or e-mail


Back to the Customer List

Copyright © 1997 Arkansas Department of Education. All rights reserved.
Department of Education Home Page