ADE Director's Communication Memo Form

Memo Number : COM-10-070

Date Created : 10/22/2009


Co-op Directors
other: All Principals; K-12 Arkansas History Teachers

Type of Memo: Informational
Response Required: No
Section:   Central Administration - Dr. Diana Julian, Deputy Commissioner
James H. Atkinson Award

Regulatory Authority:

Contact Person:
Maggie Herrick

Phone Number:


James H. Atkinson, a leader in Arkansas history education, was a founder and twice president of the Pulaski County Historical Society and editor of its journal for over ten years. For more than twenty years, Atkinson served on the editorial staff of the Arkansas Historical Quarterly and in 1952 became president of the Arkansas Historical Association. Atkinson served on the board of the Arkansas History Commission for twelve years and was chairman of the Commission for eight of those twelve years. For Atkinson's enduring contributions, the title “Mr. Arkansas History” is more than well-deserved. The James H. Atkinson Award for Excellence in the Teaching of Arkansas History is given in Atkinson's honor.

Any elementary or secondary teacher who teaches a course in Arkansas history is eligible for the award. To be considered for the award as an outstanding teacher of Arkansas history, an applicant must return four completed copies of the official entry form to the Arkansas Historical Association office by March 1, 2010. Any application received after that date will not be processed. Please contact the Association for a copy of the entry form.

A three-member committee appointed by the president of the Arkansas Historical Association will choose the winner, and the committee chairperson will present the award – a framed certificate and a check for $1,000.00 – at the banquet during the annual conference of the Association, April 16, 2010, in Jonesboro. The winner will be notified prior to the meeting.

For a copy of the entry form, please contact Donna Ludlow, Business Manager, Arkansas Historical Association, Department of History, Old Main 416, University of Arkansas, Fayetteville, AR 72701, phone 479-575-5884, or e-mail:


Back to the Customer List

Copyright © 1997 Arkansas Department of Education. All rights reserved.
Department of Education Home Page