ADE Director's Communication Memo Form

Memo Number : LS-10-018

Date Created : 11/02/2009


Co-op Directors
Secondary Principals
other: GT Supervisors
GT Coordinators

Type of Memo: Informational
Response Required: Optional
Section:   Learning Services - Dr. Laura Bednar, Assistant Commissioner
Act 56: Recognition of Outstanding Gifted Programs

Regulatory Authority:
Ark. Code Ann. § 6-42-104(h)(6)

Contact Person:
Amanda Peebles, GT Coordinator

Phone Number:


Ark. Code Ann. § 6-42-104(h)(6) (as amended by Act 56 of the 1983 First Extraordinary Session), states that the Governor’s Advisory Council for the Education of Gifted and Talented Children shall:

“Select on an annual basis not more than three educational programs for gifted and talented students operated by local school districts for recognition as outstanding programs. The programs so recognized shall be eligible to receive an award of not more than $3,000 from funds appropriated to the Arkansas Department of Education for the purpose of making awards to outstanding educational programs.”

Attached is an application with detailed instructions to be used when submitting a district’s program to be considered as an outstanding gifted and talented program. Award recipients for the past three years are not eligible to apply for a 2009 award. These districts are: 2007 – Weiner, Fordyce, Fayetteville; 2008 – Alpena, Greenbrier, and Benton and 2009 – Cutter Morning Star, Clarksville and Little Rock.

Please make this information available to the person in charge of gifted programs. APPLICATIONS MUST BE POSTMAKED NO LATER THAN JANUARY 15, 2010. Mailing address is (also appears on the application instruction page):

Arkansas Department of Education
Office of Gifted and Talented,
Four Capitol Mall, Room 203 B
Little Rock, AR 72201

Awards will be presented at the Arkansans for Gifted and Talented Education (AGATE) Conference, February 25, 2010, in Little Rock. Selected districts will be contacted no later than February 18, 2010, and invited to attend the awards luncheon at the conference.


Back to the Customer List

Copyright © 1997 Arkansas Department of Education. All rights reserved.
Department of Education Home Page