ADE Director's Communication Memo Form

Memo Number : COM-10-078

Date Created : 11/04/2009


Co-op Directors
Secondary Principals
Elementary Principals
other: Math and Science Coordinators; Math and Science Teachers

Type of Memo: Informational
Response Required: Optional
Section:   Central Administration - Dr. Diana Julian, Deputy Commissioner
2010 Presidential Awards in Mathematics and Science Nomination Form

Regulatory Authority:

Contact Person:
Cathy Mackey

Phone Number:


Each year, the President of the United States recognizes outstanding mathematics and science teachers by awarding the Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching (PAEMST). Awards are given to teachers in each state and four U.S. jurisdictions. The PAEMST program is administered by the National Science Foundation (NSF) on behalf of the White House. The 2010 PAEMST program will honor grades K-6 mathematics and science teachers, while the 2011 awards program will focus on grades 7-12 mathematics and science teachers.

Awardees receive a $10,000 award from NSF and gifts from a broad range of donors. Awardees and guests of awardees are honored during events that take place in Washington, D.C., over the course of a week-long celebration. These events include an awards ceremony, celebratory receptions and banquets, and professional development programs.

The nomination form for 2010 is available on the PAEMST Web site at Nominations must be submitted online. The PAEMST Web site provides additional information about the awards, nomination, application, selection, awardees, and state coordinators. The nomination form should be completed early enough to give the nominated teacher enough time to thoroughly prepare an application reflecting exemplary teaching prior to the application deadline. Applications are due by May 1, 2010.

Contact Roy Barnes, State Coordinator for Mathematics, or Cathy Mackey, State Coordinator for Science, with any questions about the awards program and to provide assistance and mentoring to the nominees and awardees. The state coordinators for mathematics or science may be contacted through the Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching (PAEMST) Web site at


Back to the Customer List

Copyright 1997 Arkansas Department of Education. All rights reserved.
Department of Education Home Page