ADE Director's Communication Memo Form

Memo Number : COM-10-094

Date Created : 11/23/2009


Co-op Directors

Type of Memo: Informational
Response Required: No
Section:   Communications - Julie Thompson, Director
Common Spring Break

Regulatory Authority:
ACt 424 of 2009

Contact Person:
Julie Johnson Thompson

Phone Number:


Act 424 of 2009 stipulates that all public school systems in the state that provide a week-long holiday for spring break schedule that break for five consecutive school days during the 38th week of the school year.

This common spring break for all Arkansas public schools is required for the 2009-2010 and 2010-2011 school years. The break is to begin on the Monday of the thirty-eighth week of the school year, which shall be calculated by counting as week one the first week in July that begins on a Sunday.

School districts may provide a spring break holiday with fewer than five consecutive school days if necessary to comply with the state's requirement for a minimum number of days for student attendance under the Standards for Accreditation of Arkansas Public Schools and School Districts.

An advisory committee will review the impact of the common school break during the 2009-2010 and 2010-2011 school years and then report its findings to the Arkansas legislature.


Back to the Customer List

Copyright 1997 Arkansas Department of Education. All rights reserved.
Department of Education Home Page