ADE Director's Communication Memo Form

Memo Number : COM-10-104

Date Created : 12/22/2009


Co-op Directors
High School Principals
other: High School Counselors
High School Science Teachers

Type of Memo: Informational
Response Required: Optional
Section:   Central Administration - Dr. Diana Julian, Deputy Commissioner
2010 National Youth Science Camp

Regulatory Authority:

Contact Person:
Cathy Mackey

Phone Number:


Two (2) Arkansas high school seniors will receive a full scholarship to attend the 2010 National Youth Science Camp. The nearly month-long experience includes a series of lectures, hands-on research projects, educational activities, and challenging outdoor adventures. The selected delegates must not only demonstrate outstanding academic achievement in science and mathematics but also show potential for thoughtful scientific leadership.

The camp will be held at Camp Pocahontas in the Monongahela National Forest of West Virginia. Delegates will arrive in Charleston, West Virginia, on Tuesday, June 29, 2010, and will depart on Friday, July 23, 2010.

The National Youth Science Camp experience is offered to the selected delegates regardless of financial status. All educational and recreational programs, as well as meals, lodging, and travel costs, are provided free of charge. Contributions to the National Youth Science Foundation® allow participants this once-in-a-lifetime experience.

Application forms may be found at the Science Camp Web site at The application deadline is February 26, 2010, and must be submitted directly to Arkansas’s selection coordinator at the address listed below.

Cathy Mackey, Science Specialist
Arkansas Department of Education
Four State Capitol Mall, Room 105-A
Little Rock, AR 72201


Back to the Customer List

Copyright © 1997 Arkansas Department of Education. All rights reserved.
Department of Education Home Page