ADE Director's Communication Memo Form

Memo Number : COM-10-107

Date Created : 12/31/2009


Co-op Directors

Type of Memo: Informational
Response Required: No
Section:   Legal Services - Jeremy C. Lasiter, General Counsel
2010 Consolidation List and Timeline

Regulatory Authority:
Ark. Code Ann. 6-13-1602 and 6-13-1603

Contact Person:
Jeremy Lasiter

Phone Number:


Ark. Code Ann. 6-13-1602 requires that the Department publish a consolidation list of all school districts with fewer than three hundred and fifty (350) students according to the district's average daily membership in each of the two (2) school years immediately preceding the current school year. This Commissioner's Memo is provided in fulfillment of the publication requirement contained in Ark. Code Ann. 6-13-1602.

The school districts meeting the above criteria for 2010 are: Delight, Turrell, and Weiner.

Pursuant to Ark. Code Ann. 6-13-1603, the following is a timeline of events applicable to school districts on the 2010 Consolidation List:

March 1, 2010 - Last date for the State Board of Education to receive petitions for voluntary administrative annexation or consolidation from school ditricts on the 2010 Consolidation List.

May 1, 2010- Last date for the State Board of Education to approve petitions for voluntary administrative annexation or consolidation and administratively consolidate those districts on its motion who either do not submit a petition or whose petitions are denied by the State Board.

July 1, 2010-Effective date of all administrative annexations or consolidations completed by the State Board.


Back to the Customer List

Copyright 1997 Arkansas Department of Education. All rights reserved.
Department of Education Home Page