ADE Director's Communication Memo Form

Memo Number : COM-10-112

Date Created : 01/08/2010


Co-op Directors
Elementary Principals
Middle School Principals
High School Principals
other: Curriculum Specialists

Type of Memo: Informational
Response Required: No
Section:   Central Administration - Dr. Diana Julian, Deputy Commissioner
29th Annual AASCD Conference

Regulatory Authority:

Contact Person:
Viki Martin

Phone Number:


The Twenty-Ninth Annual Curriculum and Instruction Conference will be held at the Hot Springs Convention Center in Hot Springs, Arkansas, on June 20-23, 2010. This event is co-sponsored by the Arkansas Association for Supervision and Curriculum Development (AASCD), the Arkansas Department of Education (ADE), and Arkansas Career Education (ACE). The 2010 Theme “Moving from Me to We: Moving to Action with Authentic School Leadership Teams” will feature Ian Jukes, Ted McCain, and Charles Deberry, as well as ADE Commissioner, Dr. Tom Kimbrell.

This year’s conference theme builds on the 2009 focus of leadership begins with ‘me.’ The 2010 conference moves the discussion to the role teams play in achieving and supporting the mission and goals of the organization. Participants are encouraged (not required) to attend the conference as part of a school or district team.

The AASCD conference design will model job-embedded professional development opportunities, including book studies, team learning experiences, and team dialogue that can advance common agendas.

The 2010 conference will feature a Technology Pre-Conference on Sunday, June 20, 2010. The Technology Pre-Conference has only 60 slots available so be sure to register early. See the attached flyer for conference registration and hotel information. Contact Viki Martin at or call 479-356-2125 for more information. Visit for conference details.


Back to the Customer List

Copyright © 1997 Arkansas Department of Education. All rights reserved.
Department of Education Home Page