ADE Director's Communication Memo Form

Memo Number : COM-10-130

Date Created : 02/22/2010


Co-op Directors
Secondary Principals
other: Social Studies Department Chairs and Teachers

Type of Memo: Informational
Response Required: Optional
Section:   Central Administration - Dr. Diana Julian, Deputy Commissioner
Preserve America History Teacher of the Year Award

Regulatory Authority:

Contact Person:
Sheree K. Baird

Phone Number:


The Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History and Preserve America announce the seventh
annual Preserve America History Teacher of the Year Award, which honors outstanding
teachers of American history across the country. The Gilder Lehrman Institute of American
History, founded in 1994, promotes the study and love of American history. Preserve
America is a White House initiative that encourages and supports community efforts to
preserve America’s historic, cultural, and natural heritage.

The 2010 History Teacher of the Year Award, under the direction of Preserve America, will
recognize an outstanding secondary educator and the crucial importance of American history
education in grades 7-12. All secondary teachers who have the responsibility for teaching
American history are eligible for nomination. Finalists are selected from each of the 50
states, the District of Columbia, Department of Defense schools, and U.S. territories. These
winners, in turn, become finalists for the National History Teacher of the Year. The national
honoree is recognized as the National Preserve America History Teacher of the Year at a
ceremony in either Washington, D.C. or New York City.

All teachers must be nominated on the Gilder Lehrman Web site. Deadline for nominations is
Monday, March 15, 2010. All nominees will be notified via e-mail and will receive
instructions for completing the application. To nominate a teacher, please visit the following
Web site: href=''>http://www

Additional information may be obtained at


Back to the Customer List

Copyright © 1997 Arkansas Department of Education. All rights reserved.
Department of Education Home Page