ADE Director's Communication Memo Form

Memo Number : COM-10-146

Date Created : 03/19/2010


Co-op Directors
Secondary Principals
Elementary Principals
other: LEA Supervisor
District Program Coordinators
and Teac

Type of Memo: Informational
Response Required: Optional
Section:   Special Assistant - Dee Cox
Arkansas' Roadmap to Healthy Schools

Regulatory Authority:

Contact Person:
Laura McDowell

Phone Number:


The Office of Coordinated School Health (CSH) is hosting a one day workshop for Arkansas school districts and/or schools interested in becoming part of the Coordinated School Health Initiative. The workshop is Tuesday, June 15, 2010, at the AGORA Center, 705 East Siebenmorgan, Conway, AR. The key note speaker is Dr. Pat Cooper, CEO, Early Childhood and Family Learning Foundation of New Orleans and a former superintendent in Mississippi.

The workshop is designed as a “team building” workshop. Along with the what, why and how of CSH, the workshop will provide attendees information, resources and tools to begin implementation of the eight components of Coordinated School Health to increase academic outcomes.

A core team of up to six participants should be identified to attend from the district/school wellness committee. The team should include any six of the following: superintendent, principal, school board member, school nurse, wellness committee chair, community member, teacher, parent, student, school-based mental health professional, early childhood director and/or human service worker. Attending districts/schools will have the opportunity to learn how to become a CSH site.

The attached registration form may also be found at All registration forms must be received by the Office Of Coordinated School Health By April 30, 2010. Registration forms may be faxed to 501-683-3611 or mailed to: Laura McDowell, 2020 West 3rd Street, Suite 320, Little Rock, AR.


Back to the Customer List

Copyright © 1997 Arkansas Department of Education. All rights reserved.
Department of Education Home Page