ADE Director's Communication Memo Form


Memo Number : LIC-10-031

Date Created : 04/16/2010

Attention:

Superintendents
Co-op Directors
other: All Principals
Co-Op Coordinators

Type of Memo: Informational
Response Required: Optional
   
Section:   Human Resources/Licensure - Beverly A. Williams, Assistant Commissioner
Subject:
Automatic Renewal of Teaching License

Regulatory Authority:
N/A

Contact Person:
Ron Tolson

Phone Number:
501-683-3126

E-mail:
ron.tolson@arkansas.gov

The Office of Professional Licensure will be automatically renewing teaching licenses expiring December 31, 2010.

Automatic renewal will be occurring only if the teacher:

1. Holds an Arkansas standard teaching license expiring December 31, 2010.

2. Has successfully completed at least one background check through the Arkansas State Police (ASP) and the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI). Teachers who have not yet completed a background check must do so and have the results in to the Office of Professional Licensure by September 1, 2010.

A Child Maltreatment Central Registry background check is also required for all teachers renewing their licenses for the first time. The results of this background must be in the office of Professional Licensure by September 1, 2010.

3. Is employed by an Arkansas public school for the 2010-2011 school year.

4. Has completed the required 60 hours of professional development for the 2005-2006, 2006-2007, 2007-2008, 2008-2009 and 2009-2010 school years. Schools may begin logging in professional development for the teachers July 1, 2010. All professional development must be logged in by September 1, 2010.

Beginning with the 2009 calendar year, Act 606 of 2009, the Arkansas Scholarship Lottery Act, requires that three hours of professional development on the availability of, eligibility requirements for, and the process of applying for state-supported student financial assistance shall be required for all public school superintendents and assistant superintendents as well as for all principals, assistant principals and guidance counselors at public schools where students are enrolled in grade seven through grade 12. The three hours of professional development shall be completed within the calendar year 2009, or within the first year of employment.

After the first three hours of professional development are completed, one hour of professional development shall be required annually. These professional development hours shall be counted towards the required 60 hours of professional development required annually.

The required fields for reporting this professional development have been added within the APSCN professional development reporting tool.

Arkansas Public School Computer Network (APSCN) has developed a professional development reporting tool that may be accessed by going to the Statewide Information Systems (SIS) Menu and looking under records maintenance. All professional development reporting is due with the Cycle 8 submission.

5. Has paid the $100 fee for licensure renewal by October 1, 2010.

The $100 licensure fee for the renewal of a teaching license will be submitted to Information Network of Arkansas (INA) by way of credit card payment (Visa, MasterCard, and Discover) or electronic check at the web address of https://www.ark.org/teachers/licensure.

Personal checks will not be accepted for payment of licensure fees.

School districts wishing to pay the licensure fees for teachers may submit a school district warrant covering the required fees to the Office of Professional Licensure. The school district must include a listing of the teachers being paid by the school districts warrant, including appropriate social security numbers.

Teachers unable to pay the licensure fee electronically by credit card or electronic check shall submit the required licensure fee in the form of a money order or cashiers check made out to the Arkansas Department of Education (ADE) to:

Office of Professional Licensure, Room 106-B
Four Capitol Mall
Little Rock, AR 72201

The Social Security number must be included in order to accurately credit the teacher with payment.

Teaching licenses that will not be automatically renewed are:

1. Teachers not employed by an Arkansas public school.

2. Teachers employed in an Arkansas public school who do not meet all requirements for the automatic renewal of teaching license as listed above.

Teachers not meeting the requirements for the automatic renewal shall submit all paperwork for the renewal of teaching license to:

Office of Professional Licensure, Room 106-B
Four Capitol Mall
Little Rock, AR 72201

Teachers submitting paperwork for the renewal of teaching licenses shall pay the required fee to the Information Network of Arkansas at the web address listed above. Teachers unable to pay the licensure fee electronically to the Information Network of Arkansas shall submit the required licensure fee in the form of a money order or cashiers check with application. Please do not send cash. Personal checks will not be accepted for payment of the licensure fee.

Please address questions regarding the automatic renewal process to Ron Tolson, Coordinator, Professional Licensure at 501-683-3126 or by email at ron.tolson@arkansas.gov.







Attachments:
    None

Back to the Customer List

Copyright 1997 Arkansas Department of Education. All rights reserved.
Department of Education Home Page