ADE Director's Communication Memo Form

Memo Number : DIR-99-028

Date Created : 04/28/1999


Co-op Directors
Secondary Principals
Elementary Principals
Middle School Principals
High School Principals

Type of Memo: Informational
Response Required: Optional
Section:   Central Administration - Dr. Woodrow Cummins
Arkansas Teacher of the Year 2000

Regulatory Authority:

Contact Person:
Dr. Charles D. Watson

Phone Number:


The Department of Education is pleased to announce the selection and awards process that will lead to the naming of the 2000 Arkansas Teacher of the Year. The 1999-2000 selection process begins with local schools and/or districts naming a local Teacher of the Year. A private foundation grant will provide funding for one semi-finalist award in the amount of $1,000.00 for each of the sixteen regions. One semi-finalists award will be made to a teacher in each of the fifteen regional service cooperative regions and one to a teacher in Pulaski County. From this group of semi-finalists, four finalists will be chosen. School visits and individual interviews of the four finalists will be conducted prior to naming the 2000 Arkansas Teacher of the Year. The Arkansas Teacher of the Year will receive a cash award in the amount of $14,000.00.

The enclosed material includes a time line, selection criteria and the application procedures. Please note that the State application questionnaire is selected items from the National Teacher of the Year Application Packet. Finalists will be required to provide additional information prior to the site visit and interview.

Applications are due in the Department of Education no later than Friday, September 17, 1999. Semi-finalists will be named by Friday October 8, 1999.


Back to the Customer List

Copyright 1997 Arkansas Department of Education. All rights reserved.
Department of Education Home Page