ADE Director's Communication Memo Form

Memo Number : ACC-00-016

Date Created : 09/16/1999


Co-op Directors
Secondary Principals
Elementary Principals
Middle School Principals
High School Principals
other: LEA Superviso

Type of Memo: Informational
Response Required: No
Section:   Accountability - Dr. Charity Smith
Special Education Programs, Agency Fest II

Regulatory Authority:
Public Law 94-142, as amended

Contact Person:
Virginia Clements

Phone Number:


The Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA) Amendments of 1997 require, when appropriate, a statement of the interagency responsibilities or any needed linkages documented in the transition section of the Individualized Education Program (IEP) of students with disabilities beginning at least by age 16.

To assist local school districts in meeting this requirement of IDEA, the Arkansas Department of Education, Special Education Unit, Transition Staff, in partnership with Regional Interagency Teams, will host "Agency Fest II" meetings during the 1999-2000 school year. "Agency Fest II" will provide an opportunity for public school special education staff to learn about services provided by other agencies. Local agency personnel will be in attendance to meet local school staff. The goal of "Agency Fest II" is to develop a better understanding of the transition process for all personnel involved.

The format of each "Agency Fest II" meeting is as follows:

8:30 - 9:00 Registration
9:00 - 11:30 Referral System Training Presentation by Agency Personnel in Attendance
11:30 - 12:00 Information Sharing

The "Agency Fest II" meeting dates, towns and locations are listed on "Attachment A" to this memo. Registration deadline is Monday, September 27, 1999. Fill out the attached registration form and mail or fax it to:

Virginia Clements
Arkansas Department of Education,
Special Education Unit, Transition
#4 Capitol Mall, Room 105C
Little Rock, Arkansas 72201

(501) 682-5168


Back to the Customer List

Copyright 1997 Arkansas Department of Education. All rights reserved.
Department of Education Home Page