ADE Director's Communication Memo Form

Memo Number : SI-00-067

Date Created : 01/25/2000


Co-op Directors
Secondary Principals
Elementary Principals

Type of Memo: Informational
Response Required: Yes
Section:   School Improvement and Professional Development - Ms. Janinne Riggs
Christa McAuliffe Fellowship Program

Regulatory Authority:

Contact Person:
Brenda Turner

Phone Number:


The Arkansas Department of Education is requesting funding proposals from public and private, full-time school teachers for the 1999-2000 Christa McAuliffe Fellowship Program. The program is funded through a United States Department of Education grant to the Council of Chief State School Officers and honors the late Sharon Christa McAuliffe, the teacher who served as an astronaut on the Challenger Space Shuttle in January 1986.

One of Arkansas' teachers will receive fellowships in the amount of $26,120, which will enable this outstanding teacher to engage in a variety of professional growth and education improvement activities. This fellowship will be awarded through a competitive application process. Interested teachers are invited to apply.

Background information on the program and an official application form are attached. Application forms for these awards must be RECEIVED at the ARKANSAS DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION BY 4:30 P.M. ON FRIDAY,
APRIL 14, 2000. The awards will be announced by May 19, 2000.

Please notify the teachers in your schools that this outstanding opportunity is available by sharing the attached information. In order for a teacher to be eligible for the fellowship, he/she must be a citizen or permanent resident of Arkansas, expected to be under contract to teach during the 2000-2001 school year, have been employed as a teacher for eight (8) or more years, plans to return to a teaching position in his/her current place of employment for a least two (2) years following the award, and have the capacity for independent study as demonstrated by previous accomplishments.

Christa McAuliffe Fellowship Application
ATTN: Brenda Turner, Coordinator
Arkansas Department of Education
#4 State Capitol Mall, Room 107A
Little Rock, AR 72201


Back to the Customer List

Copyright 1997 Arkansas Department of Education. All rights reserved.
Department of Education Home Page