ADE Director's Communication Memo Form

Memo Number : SI-00-095

Date Created : 03/17/2000


Co-op Directors
other: Drug Coordinators

Type of Memo: Informational
Response Required: Optional
Section:   School Improvement and Professional Development - Ms. Janinne Riggs
Safe and Drug-Free School Allocation

Regulatory Authority:
20 USC 5962 (P.L. 103-382, Sections 4011-4017)

Contact Person:
Otistene Smith

Phone Number:


The Safe and Drug-Free Schools and Communities Act (SDFSCA) of 1994, Title IV, provides funding for Drug and Violence Prevention Programs for local educational agencies (LEAs). A total of $3,316,374 has been allocated for Arkansas' Safe and Drug-Free Schools and Communities grant FY '99, of which $2,112,530 will be awarded on a non-competitive basis for the 70% Base Grant. Funds will be distributed on the basis of student enrollment as of October 1, 1998.

If you decide to keep the funds and have not done so in the past, please notify the respective Educational Cooperative in writing and forward a copy of the correspondence to our office.

To request an application or for additional information, please call 501-324-9747. Otherwise, the 1999-2000, 70% Base Grant will be mailed out on March 21, 2000. The deadline for the grant application is April 28, 2000. Please address all correspondence to the following address:

Otistene Smith, Program Manager
Office of Comprehensive Health Education
Executive Building
2020 West Third Street, Suite 300
Little Rock, Arkansas 72205


Back to the Customer List

Copyright 1997 Arkansas Department of Education. All rights reserved.
Department of Education Home Page