INSTRUCTIONS

EDUCATION REIMBURSEMENT REQUEST FOR STUDENTS SERVED IN  APPROVED RESIDENTIAL FACILITIES

Separate application forms are used for the education reimbursement for disabled and nondisabled students in approved residential facilities. For students in state-operated facilities, the facility assumes the cost.  

Reimbursement for Identified Students with Disabilities

Act 1392 of 1999 provides for current year funding for identified students with disabilities receiving educational services in approved residential treatment facilities.  

Reimbursement will be determined on a per school day basis for each identified student with disabilities.  The maximum reimbursement for the school year is calculated by multiplying 2.10 times the Base Local Revenue per Student (BLRS).  To determine the per school day amount, maximum annual reimbursement is divided by the number of days school is in session.  The per school day amount will remain constant until the BLRS changes.  When the BLRS changes, the per day amount will be adjusted.  At the current rate of $4,492.23, the per school day amount is $52.99 (2.10 x $4,492.23 [BLRS] =  $9,433.68/178 [number of school days] = $52.99).

Reimbursement request forms must include the student’s name and identification code, number of school days served, and the name and address of the residential treatment center.  Also, verification of Arkansas residency must be indicated according to the following:

A. Arkansas resident receiving education in a residential facility in Arkansas.

B. Arkansas resident receiving education through a day treatment program in a residential facility in Arkansas.

C. Arkansas resident receiving education in a residential facility outside of Arkansas.

Reimbursement will cover either the actual cost per student, per day or the per day rate calculated by the Arkansas Department of Education,  whichever is lower. Copies of paid invoices reflecting individual student charges must accompany all claims.

Reimbursement for Nondisabled Students

Reimbursement request forms must include each student’s name and identification code, the number of school days served, and the name and address of the residential treatment center.  Also, indicate on the form that the student is an Arkansas resident.  Districts cannot be reimbursed for non-residents of Arkansas.

Reimbursement will cover either the actual cost per student, per day or the per day rate calculated by the Arkansas Department of Education (ADE),  whichever is lower. Copies of paid invoices reflecting individual student charges must accompany all claims.

The Special Education Grants and Data Management Office will process reimbursement requests on a quarterly basis. Each quarter’s request must be received by the deadlines indicated on the application form in order for it to be processed and included in that quarter’s payment.  Payment will be sent from the ADE Finance Office to the County Treasurer.  

For additional information regarding the request for reimbursement, please call the Grants and Data Management Office at (501) 682-4223.  Completed reimbursement forms should be mailed to:

 Arkansas Department of Education

Special Education 

Grants and Data Management

#4 Capitol Mall, Room 105-C

Little Rock, AR  72201-1071

Prepared in accordance with Ark. Code Ann. 6-18-202 and Act 1392 of 1999.

REIMBURSEMENT REQUEST FOR

EDUCATIONAL COSTS OF

STUDENTS WITH DISABILITIES IN

APPROVED RESIDENTIAL TREATMENT CENTERS
2000-2001
District ____________________________________________       LEA#_______________

Check()      
   1st Quarter
         2nd Quarter   
      3rd Quarter   
 4th Quarter

Submission

Deadline:           (11-15-00)             (02-15-01)             (04-13-01)             (06-15-01)  

1.
Number of students with disabilities for which reimbursement is requested
____________

2.
Total number of student days this billing period




____________

3.
Current per school day amount





      X
       $52.99     
4. Actual cost (Attach legible copies of paid bills showing the education

costs of individual students.  Reimbursement cannot be made without 

adequate documentation.)







$___________

5.
Line 3 x Line 2








$___________

6.
Enter the lower of lines 4 and 5





           $___________

Maximum reimbursement for disabled students will be actual educational costs not to exceed current per school day amount.  The per day amount will vary with changes in Base Local Revenue per Student.


I certify that these data are accurate, that each student counted is identified as disabled according to eligibility guidelines and that each student with disabilities is placed in a residential treatment facility approved by the Arkansas Department of Education.  Further, no student counted on this report is counted on the district’s request for reimbursement for nondisabled students placed in a residential treatment facility nor included in the district’s average daily membership on the quarterly report (Form FAPD-3).

_________________________________
___________________
__________________

          Superintendent’s Signature

              Phone

              Date

_________________________________
___________________

                 Contact Person



  Phone


ADE USE ONLY
Approved: Yes _____     No _____



Amount Approved: $____________

Approved By: ______________________________
            Date: ________________________

District ____________________________

Period Covered ______________________

2000-2001

SUMMARY OF REIMBURSEMENT REQUEST

STUDENTS WITH DISABILITIES IN 

APPROVED RESIDENTIAL TREATMENT CENTERS
Student Name and ID Number
Name and Address of 

Residential Treatment Center
No. of Days Served
Verified Residency

Status of Student






A
B
C

























































Residency Status of Student:

Column A -
Check column A if the student is an Arkansas resident receiving education in a residential facility in Arkansas.

Column B -
Check column B if the student is an Arkansas resident receiving education through a day treatment program in a residential facility in Arkansas.

Column C -
Check column C if the student is an Arkansas resident receiving education in a residential facility located outside of Arkansas.

REIMBURSEMENT REQUEST FOR

EDUCATIONAL COSTS OF

NONDISABLED STUDENTS IN

APPROVED RESIDENTIAL TREATMENT CENTERS
2000-2001
District ____________________________________________       LEA#_______________

Check()      
   1st Quarter
         2nd Quarter   
      3rd Quarter   
 4th Quarter

Submission

Deadline:           (11-15-00)             (02-15-01)             (04-13-01)             (06-15-01)  

1.
Number of nondisabled students for which reimbursement is requested      
____________

2.
Total number of student days this billing period




____________

3.
Current per school day amount





      X
       $52.99     

4.
Actual cost (Attach legible copies of paid bills showing the education

costs of individual students.  Reimbursement cannot be made without

adequate documentation.)





          
           $___________

5.
Line 3 x Line 2

6.
Enter the lower of lines 4 and 5                  
                      


$___________

Maximum reimbursement for nondisabled students will be actual educational costs not to exceed current per school day amount.  The per day amount will vary with changes in Base Local Revenue per Student.


I certify that these data are accurate, that each nondisabled student was placed in a residential treatment facility approved by the Arkansas Department of Education and that each nondisabled student was not placed in the residential center for the primary purpose of receiving educational services.  Further, no student counted on this report is counted on the district’s request for reimbursement for students with disabilities placed in a residential treatment facility nor included in the district’s average daily membership on the quarterly report (Form FAPD-3).

_________________________________
___________________
__________________

          Superintendent’s Signature

              Phone

              Date

_________________________________
___________________

                 Contact Person



  Phone


ADE USE ONLY
Approved: Yes _____     No _____



Amount Approved: $____________

Approved By: ______________________________
            Date: ________________________

District _______________________________
Period Covered ______________________

2000-2001

SUMMARY OF REIMBURSEMENT REQUEST

NONDISABLED STUDENTS
IN APPROVED RESIDENTIAL TREATMENT CENTERS

Student Name and ID Number
Name and Address of

Residential Treatment Center
No. of Days Served
Verified Residency Status 

(Yes or No)
























































Verified Status (yes or no) -
Nondisabled students must be residents of Arkansas as defined by Ark. Code Ann. 6-18-202.  Reimbursement is available for students served in Arkansas facilities only.

