ADE Director's Communication Memo Form

Memo Number : COM-06-017

Date Created : 08/29/2005


Co-op Directors
Secondary Principals
Elementary Principals

Type of Memo: Informational
Response Required: Yes
Section:   Communications - Julie Thompson, Director
Teacher of the Year 2006

Regulatory Authority:

Contact Person:
Julie Johnson Thompson

Phone Number:


The Department of Education announces a request for nominations for Arkansas Teacher of the Year: 2005-2006.  Each district is encouraged to designate a local district Teacher of the Year.  The designated teacher is invited to complete the attached application packet.  Funding from the Walton Family Foundation will allow the Department of Education to recognize one teacher from each of the 15 regional service cooperatives and one from Pulaski County as regional Teacher of the Year Finalists.  Each of the recognized teachers will receive a cash award in the amount of $1,000.

Applicants should follow the directions in the packet carefully and be precise and be focused in responding to the essay items.  Completed packets, including one set with original signatures and six additional copies, must be returned to the Department of Education on or before the close of work (4:30 p.m.) on Friday, September 30, 2005.
Four teachers will be selected from the regional finalists as state Teacher of the Year semi-finalists.  The selection panel will visit each of the selected teachers in the classroom prior to naming the 2006 Arkansas Teacher of the Year.  The Teacher of the Year will receive an additional cash award in the amount of $14,000. 

For questions about the Arkansas Teacher of the Year program, contact Marla Holmes at 501-683-4786 or by e-mail


Back to the Customer List

Copyright 1997 Arkansas Department of Education. All rights reserved.
Department of Education Home Page