ADE Director's Communication Memo Form

Memo Number : LS-06-099

Date Created : 03/28/2006


Co-op Directors
Elementary Principals
Middle School Principals
High School Principals
other: Curriculum Spec.
SS Dept Chair

Type of Memo: Informational
Response Required: No
Section:   Learning Services - Dr. Diana Julian, Assistant Commissioner
Preserve America: History Teacher of the Year Award

Regulatory Authority:

Contact Person:
Maggie Herrick

Phone Number:


Preserve America has announced a national award program, “Preserve America: History Teacher of the Year,” to honor outstanding teachers of American history across the country. Preserve America, a White House initiative, is working in this effort with the Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History. History teachers at every level, from elementary through high school, are eligible for nomination. The state coordinator, Maggie Herrick, must receive nominations and all supporting materials no later than Wednesday, May 24, 2006. Finalists of the “Preserve America: History Teacher of the Year” will be selected annually from the 50+ state winners – one each from the fifty states, the District of Columbia, Department of Defense, and U.S. Territories. From these winners a national winner will be recognized as the “National Preserve America: History Teacher of the Year” at a ceremony in Washington, D.C. or New York City. Application procedures and a complete award overview are attached.


Back to the Customer List

Copyright © 1997 Arkansas Department of Education. All rights reserved.
Department of Education Home Page